The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Reward for each match

London: The International Cricket Council (ICC) relaunched its world Test championship on Wednesday after conceding that the concept had failed to catch the imagination of supporters.

ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed told a news conference at Lord’s: “I don’t think it has caught on as much as I would have liked it to happen. I think it will take time. It needs close contests at the top of the ladder.”

The new table will be based on rolling results going back three or four years and will reward teams for each Test result.

The previous table was based on series rather than match results, dating back to 1996.

“We want a system that reflects current form rather than past form,” Speed added. “Our first table was introduced in May 2001 but we believe there can be a better system. Each match is now relevant, as well as a bonus for the result of the series.”

Wins over higher-ranked sides will also earn more points than successes over minor teams.

Australia will continue to top the table ahead of South Africa but, under the new rating system, their lead will be extended.

New Zealand are third in the table, followed by Sri Lanka, England, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. (Reuters)

Email This Page