The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
The City Diary

Star Theatre to reopen in 2004

The newly-renovated Star Theatre will reopen in 2004, said mayor Subrata Mukherjee after a visit to the theatre on Wednesday. Mukherjee was invited to check out the renovation work presently in progress after a massive fire devastated the decades-old theatre in 1991. According to plan, two new stages will be set up. The main auditorium will be air-conditioned and accommodate over 650 people. Another stage, slightly smaller, will seat 350 people. A market complex will also be developed in front, announced the mayor.

Madarsa exam results

The results of this year’s Madarsa examinations including high madarsa, alim, fazil, kamil and m.m, conducted by the West Bengal Board of Madarsa Education, will be announced on Friday, said board president Abdus Sattar. The results will be available on and from 3 pm on Friday, he added. The exams were held in March and around 18,995 students had taken the tests.

Sergeant hurt

A city police sergeant was knocked down by a motorcyclist around 12.30 pm at the crossing of Council House Street and Hare Street on Wednesday. The injured constable was rushed to a city hospital with multiple fractures in his legs. No one has been arrested in this connection.

Post-poll violence

Senior Congress leaders Somen Mitra and Atish Sinha and some MLAs met chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee at Writers’ Buildings on Wednesday and expressed concern about the post-panchayat poll violence in the Murshidabad district. They urged the chief minister to restrain the CPM cadre who, they alleged, had unleashed a “reign of terror” on Congress workers. The leaders also sought the release of Hamidur Rahaman, Congress MLA from North Dinajpur, and Abul Bashar Laskar, former Congress MLA from South 24-Parganas, now in police custody. Both Sinha and Mitra tried to convince Bhattacharjee that the two had actually been implicated.

Bypoll candidates

The names of candidates contesting the June 8 by-elections from Vidyasagar and Nabadwip were announced on Wednesday at Writers’ Buildings. Anadi Kumar Sarkar (CPM), Ashok Sinha (BJP), Mohua Mondol (Congress) and Suresh Kumar Robidas (BSP) and four Independent candidates will contest from Vidyasagar. Alokesh Das (CPM), Abir Ranjan Biswas (Trinamul), Rajani Kanta Dolui (Congress) and Sushil Kumar Sarkar (BSP) and four Independent candidates will fight for Nabadwip.

Maths camp

Mathematics teachers of some prominent city schools, who have undertaken a novel scheme to make students interested in the subject, will organise a camp at Ramrik Institution, near Bhowanipore Metro station. The camp will begin on May 31 and continue till June 8, a spokesperson said. The new method is meant to connect maths with everyday life.

Thumbs Up

To Bharat Relief Society for opening a state-of-the-art dental clinic
Email This Page