The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Customs BHA champions after 7 years

Calcutta Customs Tuesday regained the BHA League first division Group A title they last had in 1996. At the Mohun Bagan ground Wednesday, Customs beat Calcutta Port Trust 2-0, and while they still had a match —versus CESC — to go, the fact that CESC drew their match 1-1 with Eastern Railway at the East Bengal ground, allowed Customs to enjoy such a lead that nobody now can touch. Customs have 33 points and are five points adrift of CESC, the second placed team. Even if Customs lose their last match, they have the title anyway. This was Customs’ 11th win in-a-row.

Customs went ahead in the 15th minute when Ayaz Ahmed converted a penalty stroke and Imran Ahmed added another off a solo effort 19 minutes later.

CESC were ahead in the seventh minute through an Atal Tirkey goal, but Eastern Railway equalised in the 28th minute via Poulous Soy. There could yet be a fight for second place.

Meanwhile, in the Kaivan Cup, Students’ SC entered the final Wednesday, beating Bengal United 3-0.

National roller skating

S. Madhu (of Andhra Pradesh) and Devanshi Unadkat (maharashtra) were champions in the free-style 12-14 age-group male and female categories, respectively, of the 40th national roller skating championships at the SAI, Eastern Centre complex Wednesday.

Mahesh Varma and A. Panchali of Andhra Pradesh won the pairs title.


Figure skating: 10-12 female — Sanjana Parikh (Gujarat). 10-12 male: Tanmai Shah (Maharashtra). Under-8 female: Devanshi Dalal (Gujarat).


Sunil Banerjee had a hole-in-one on the 147-yard 11th hole over the Tollygunge Club course last Sunday.

Calcutta Cup

Dakshin Kalikata Sansad beat hosts Vijay Sports Club by 39 runs, while Barisha CCC beat Senpalli CCC by 249 runs in their Calcutta Cup cricket meet Wednesday.

Medallists feted

The Bengal Olympic Association Wednesday felicitated the state athletes who won medals at the last National Games in Hyderabad.

The body distributed a sizeable Rs 7.95 lakh in cash award to the athletes and coaches at the Netaji Indoor Stadium.

There were 12 Bengal gold medallists, and the biggest purse, of Rs 65,000, went to swimmer-sprinter Akbar Ali Mir who won two golds.

Next best was paddler Mouma Das, who won four golds, including team and doubles, getting Rs 55,000. Paddler Sourav Chakraborty, who won three golds, got Rs 50,000, while Rakhi Debnath, who won gold in gymnastics (uneven bar and team) got Rs 45,000.

There was also a purse of Rs 50,000 for the coaches.


ROLLER SKATING: Finals of different events in the 40th national championships at the SAI, Eastern Centre complex, 3pm.

FOOTBALL: IFA women’s league —Bidyut Sporting vs Youth Footballers (Howrah), Income tax vs Itika Memorial (R. Sarovar). Matches from 3.30pm

Email This Page