The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Five states get new Governors

New Delhi, May 2: Ending weeks of speculation, the Centre today released the official list of Governors for five states.

Assam Governor S.K. Sinha, now on holiday in the US, will step into Gary Saxena’s shoes in Jammu and Kashmir. He has been shifted to Srinagar on the basis of his experience in handling Assam.

Chief minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed wanted a non-military man as Governor, but has not objected to Sinha because the 77-year-old retired as a general years ago.

Senior BJP vice-president Kailashpati Mishra has been appointed Governor of Gujarat in place of Sunder Singh Bhandari. Mishra is trusted by deputy Prime Minister L.K. Advani.

Former chief minister Ram Prakash Gupta will replace Bhai Mahavir in Madhya Pradesh. Nirmal Chandra Jain, a jurist, has replaced Justice Anshuman Singh in Rajasthan.

A retired judge of Kerala High Court, Om Prakash Varma, will replace Lt Gen. Jacob in Punjab. Himachal Governor Suraj Bhan’s term has ended and retired Justice V.S Kokje would succeed him.

The Centre will now have to find a full-time Governor for Assam. For now, Arunachal Governor Arvind Dave has taken additional charge of the state. Former Punjab police chief K.P.S. Gill was considered for the post by Advani. But neither Gill nor chief minister Tarun Gogoi was enthusiastic about it.

Of late, retired army chief General S. Padmanabhan’s name has been doing the rounds.

Email This Page