The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Devang hits unbeaten 194

Devang Gandhi hit an unbeaten 194 and almost single-handedly guided Tollygunge Agragami to be well on course to make the J.C. Mukherjee Trophy final when they piled up 372 for seven against East Bengal in the semi-final on Wednesday.

Murtaza Lodhgar took three for 107 to emerge East Bengal’s most successful bowler.

Brief scores

Tollygunge Agaragmi: 372/7 (Devang Gandhi 194 n.o., Arindam Das 43; Murtaza Lodhgar 3/107) vs East Bengal. Match to continue.

Ambar Roy meet

Anup Barik’s allround performance of 42 runs and four for 14 helped North Howrah CC wallop Pioneer Co-Op CC by 81 runs in the Pepsi Ambar Roy sub-junior cricket meet on Wednesday.


nBelgharia SC 156/6 (A. Sarkar 46). Marcus Square CCC 68 (Prosenjit Roy 4/4). Belgharia SC won by 88 runs.

- Friends of the Stadium 115/5 (Sayantan Banerjee 39). Suhrid Mitra CCC 116/5 (Tanmoy Bagchi 31). Suhrid Mitra CCC won by 5 wkts.

- Subhas Institute (Barasat) 165/4 (Sudip Chatterjee 61, Jit Ghosh 45). Sonai Memorial CCC 137/8 (Sk. Asif Ali 50; Ratul Mukherjee 4/17). Subhas Institute won by 28 runs.

- Cricket Clinic of Deshbandhu Park 129/8 (Asijit Khan 33). Biswanath CCC 130/2 (Sandip Halder 80 n.o.). Biswanath CCC won by 8 wkts.

- FD Block Asso. 44/9 (Bikash Jha 4/2). Liluah CCC 48/0 (Chandranath Thakur 23 n.o.). Liluah CCC won by 10 wkts.

- Ashok Malhotra CA 106 (Biswajit Saha 3/18). Milan Samity CCC 110/4 (Robin Roy 56 n.o.). Milan Samity won by 6 wkts.

- Sambaran Banerjee CAC 184/1 (Subhajit Banerjee 75, Sanchayan Chatterjee 46). CCDCCC 81/6 (Debon Ghosh 32; Subhendu Mullick 3/5). SBCAC won by 103 runs.

- Paikpara SC 111/7. Durgapur CC 115/3 (Subhradip Bhattacharya 55). Durgapur won by 7 wkts.

- North Howrah CC 169 (Anup Barik 42; Aanay Karmakar 5/34, Subhajyoti Nandy 3/48). Pioneer Co-Op CC 88 (Anup Barik 4/14, Anik Saha Chowdhury 4/22). North Howrah won by 81 runs.

U-19 tourney

An all-India under-19 inter-state invitation cricket tournament will start here from Friday.

Eight state teams, clubbed in two groups, will take part in the week-long tournament, the final slated for May 3. Some of the teams for the meet are CAB XI, Maharashtra XI.

Paramita best

Paramita Ghosh maintained her lead to emerge champion in the 29th state women chess championship at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra on Wednesday. Suman Basu won the junior boys’s meet while Indradip Giri became the best in the dsub-junior category.

BHA league

Eastern Railway SA beat BNR 4-0 in the first division group A of the BHA League on Wednesday. Ashok Razzaq, Sheikh Siraz, Poulus Soi and Santosh Tirkey were the scorers.


FOOTBALL: NFL — Tollygunge Agragami vs JCT at Salt Lake Stadium from 3.45 pm.

CRICKET: JC Mukherjee semi-final — Tollygunge Agragami vs EB. Day II at Eden Gardens from 10 am.

TABLE TENNIS: Inter-club meet at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from 2pm

HOCKEY: BHA Group B matches at the Md Sporting ground from 2 pm

Email This Page