The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
India to play four Tests

Sydney: The Australian Cricket Board confirmed Wednesday India will play four Tests during their tour Down Under in December-January.

Australia begin their domestic Test season against Zimbabwe in Perth (October 9-13) and Sydney (October 17-21).

The world champions then take on India in four Tests in Brisbane (December 4-8), Adelaide (December 12-16), Melbourne (December 26-30) and Sydney (January 2-6), the ACB said.

The VB one-day triangular series involving Australia, Zimbabwe and India takes place from January 9 to February 3, with a best-of-three match finals series in Melbourne (February 6), Sydney (February 8) and Brisbane (February 10, if required).

The ACB said no international cricket will take place in November, with Australia expected to play in a triangular one-day series in India.

Zimbabwe will also play five first-class matches while touring in Australia and India have matches against Victoria (November 27-29), Prime Minister’s XI in Canberra (December 1) and Australia A in Hobart (December 19-21).

The Australians normally only play at home between November and February but ACB chief executive James Sutherland said they had been forced to break from the traditional schedule to fit in with the ICC’s 10-year programme.

“Nine out of 10 Test nations stage their cricket seasons at the same time of year, so there is an ongoing need to share the October to March period,” Sutherland said in a statement.

“Our plan to tour India in November is an example of implementing the reciprocal arrangements with India and a consequence of sharing the same cricket season.”


l Zimbabwe in Australia

Oct. 1, 2003: vs Chairman’s XI, Perth; Oct. 3-5: vs Western Australia, Perth; Oct. 9-13: First Test, Perth; Oct. 17-21: Second Test, Sydney; Jan. 1, 2004: vs Australia A, Perth; Jan. 4: vs Western Australia (D/N), Perth; Jan. 7: vs Australia A (D/N), Adelaide.

l India in Australia

Nov. 27-29, 2003: vs Victoria, Melbourne; Dec. 1: vs Prime Minister’s XI, Canberra; Dec. 4-8: First Test, Brisbane; Dec. 12-16: Second Test, Adelaide; Dec. 19-21: vs Australia A, Hobart; Dec. 26-30: Third Test, Melbourne; Jan. 2-6, 2004: Fourth Test, Sydney.

l Triangular one-day series

Jan 9, 2004: Australia vs India (D/N), Melbourne; Jan. 11: Australia vs Zimbabwe (D/N), Sydney; Jan. 14: India vs Zimbabwe, Hobart; Jan. 16: Australia vs Zimbabwe, Hobart; Jan. 18: Australia vs India (D/N), Brisbane; Jan. 20: India vs Zimbabwe (D/N), Brisbane; Jan. 22: Australia vs India (D/N), Sydney; Jan. 24: India vs Zimbabwe (D/N), Adelaide; Jan. 26: Australia vs Zimbabwe (D/N), Adelaide; Jan. 29: Australia vs Zimbabwe (D/N), Melbourne; Feb. 1: Australia vs India, Perth; Feb. 3: India vs Zimbabwe (D/N), Perth; Feb. 6: First final (D/N), Melbourne; Feb. 8: Second final (D/N), Sydney; Feb. 10: Third final (D/N), if required, Brisbane.

Email This Page