The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

City to host Federation Cup in August

The Federation Cup for the forthcoming season will be played in the city in late August. The AIFF secretary Alberto Colaco, who was in the city Wednesday, had requested the IFA authorities to host the matches in July, but the state association wants to have the meet in August.

Meanwhile, AIFF will impose a fine worth Rs 1 lakh on any team who will make themselves unavailable for the under-19 National Football League, Colaco informed. The 12 teams playing in the National Football League are scheduled to take part in the junior meet. The tournament will be played in two phases in Goa and Calcutta simultaneously from May 15 to 30.

East Bengal make semis

East Bengal thrashed Wari AC by 212 runs in the quarter finals and stormed into the last four stage of the J.C. Mukherjee Trophy at the Kalighat ground Wednesday. Chasing 430 for victory, Wari were bowled out for 217, Murtaza Lodhgar getting five for 45.


East Bengal 429/8. Wari 217 (Avishek Ghosh 66, Arup Bhattacharya 49; Murtaza Lodhgar 5/45). EB won by 212 runs.

Sub-Junior cricket

Shute Banerjee CCC moved into the semi-finals of the Ambar Roy sub-junior cricket tournament organised by Chandranath Chatterjee CCC Wednesday. In the quarter finals, they beat Calcutta CCC by 74 runs.


Shute Banerjee CCC 226/7 (Daipayan Mukherjee 60, Avirup Gupta 40). Calcutta CCC 152 (Saptarshi Sana 3/25). Shute Banerjee CCC won by 74 runs.

Saurav, Sridhar in last four

Saurav Panja and Vinod Sridhar reached the semi-finals of the Central Excise Open grass-court tennis championship Wednesday. While Sridhar beat Vinod Kr. Sewa 6-2, 6-1, Panja got the better of Manoj Sewa 6-4, 6-1.


DOUBLES QUARTERS: R. Chitlangiya/A. Jagani bt V. Chettri/S. Sache 7-6, 6-3; A. Viplav/ S. Verma bt Manoj Sewa/S. Sukul 5-7, 6-3, 7-6; V. Sridhar/K. Kannan bt G. Mukherjee/ S. Ghosh 6-3, 6-2; S. Panja/V. Sewa bt N. Mohinta/R. Das 6-1, 6-3.

Anandabazar Cup

Santipur Hindu High School won the Nadia leg of the Britannia Anandabazar Cup beating Laopala Kalpataru High School 5-1 in the final. Rajat Biswas scored two while Sukhen Das, Sanjoy Biswas and Gouranga Pare scored one each.

In the Behrampore final, Chaltia Sree Guru Pathshala High School edged out Chanak TNAV High School 5-4 in the tie-breaker. Tarangapur High School emerged the Raigunj champions with a 1-0 win over Maharaja Jagadish Nath High School.


Cooch Behar semi-final: Sitai HS 1 (Sudhan Barman) Maharaja Nipendra Narayan High School 0; Sodepur N. 24 Pgns. semi-final: Basirhat Town School 3 (Sasanka Singh, Asif Kaji, Bhoal Mali) Banmalipur Priyanath Institution 1 (Krishnapada Majhi); Chandannagore semi-final: Prabartak Vidyarthi Bhavan 4 (Subhashish Chakraborty 2, Mohan Mondal, Sk. Firoz) Dr S.P. Ghosh Adarsha Shikshalaya 0; Balurghat semi-final: Najirpur HS 4 (Ananta Hembram, Chandan Murmu 2) Nadirpar N.C. HS 0; Purulia semi-final: Noapara HS 5 (Ranjit Hembram 2, Durga Charan Tudu, Chakradhra Tudu og) Arhun Jora HS 0; Burdwan semi-final: Banpas Siksha Niketan 7 Basul C.D.P. HS 6 (tie-breaker).

Customs win big

Calcutta Customs blanked Howrah Union 13-0 in a BHA Group A league match Wednesday. While Satbinder Singh scored four and Shakti Singh three, Imran Ansari scored a brace. A.P. Thapa, Imran Ahmed, Sudhir Kr Shau and Ishak Ali completed the rout.

In another match, CCFC rode a brace from Abdul Aziz to beat Khalsa Blues 2-0.

In the Group B matches, BSF South Bengal beat Wari 4-1 while Sporting Union and Barranagore SC drew 1-1.


TENNIS: Grass-court meet at Central Excise Club from 10 am

HOCKEY: BHA League Group A ERSA vs FCI (Mohun Bagan); BNR vs SAI (East Bengal) Matches at 3:30 pm.

Email This Page