The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Anirban wins menís title
Winners of the Calcutta table tennis championships at Khudiram Anusilan Kendra Monday (left to right): Tapas Sarkar, Madhurima Banerjee, Runa Roy, Gargi Nag, Kanchan Basak, Souvik Kar, Anirban Nandy, S. Muthakrishnan, Soumyajit Sarkar and Samapti Biswas. Picture by Santosh Ghosh

Calcutta: Anirban Nandy bagged the menís singles title in the Calcutta table tennis championships Monday. He overcame Subhajit Saha four games to one. Anirban turned it around after dropping the first game, ultimately winning the final 10-12, 11-7, 12-10, 11-6, 11-9.

Kanchan Basak clinched the womenís crown by default. Her opponent Anushree Saha was held up by a job-related medical examination and couldnít make it to the venue. Her absence also benefitted Ruma Roy, the girlsí singles champion.


Boys: Soumyajit Sarkar bt Niloy Basak 8-11, 11-6, 11-6, 11-7, 9-11, 11-7. Sub-jr boys: Souvik Kar bt Arkabrata Kundu 9-11, 7-11, 11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 11-6, 11-7. Sub-jr girls: Samapti Biswas bt Arpita Banerjee 11-13, 11-7, 9-11, 12-10, 12-10, 12-10. Cadet boys: Tapas Sarkar bt Sourav Saha 11-9, 7-11, 11-8, 11-8. Cadet girls: Gargi Nag bt Shreya Ghosh 13-11, 10-12, 9-12, 11-9, 11-9. Nursery boys: S. Muthakrishnan bt Sandipan Dey 16-14, 5-11, 12-10. Nursery girls: Madhurima Banerjee bt Samayeta Mondal 14-12, 11-7.

Email This Page