The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Rohan skips tie for knot

Vijayawada: Former India ’keeper M. S. K. Prasad will lead Elite B in the absence of Rohan Gavaskar, who is getting married on April 2, in their Duleep Trophy match against Elite C starting Thursday.

Meanwhile, Elite C, led by Shiv Sunder Das, has several top players like Jacob Martin, Nilesh Kulkarni, Pankaj Dharmani and Yere Goud in their ranks. On the other hand, Elite B, too, have a strong line up with the likes of Wasim Jaffer, S. Bahutule, Amit Pagnis and Vinayak Mane.

Harvinder Singh replaces an injured Orissa paceman Debashish Mohanty while Gynanendra Pandey fills in for Rohan.

Meanwhile, reinforced by the inclusion of former India medium pacer Venkatesh Prasad, a confident Plate B take on Elite A in another match at Bangalore. Elite A, too are determined to make amends after failing to impress in the first two encounters.

Prasad, who has replaced S. Dhahad in the squad, is likely to take the place of C. Atram in the final XI.

Plate B, led by J. Arun Kumar, is high on confidence following their innings victory in the last match against Plate A. They have 11 points from two outings — eight from the victory and a draw against Elite B.

Elite A had conceded first innings leads in both their previous engagements and have six points.

S. Sriram, stand-in captain for the injured Reetinder Singh Sodhi, is in superb form with two back-to-back centuries. In the bowling department, it’s upto medium-pacers Irfan Pathan (jr) and Ranadeb Bose to deliver the goods.

However, the Bengal boys did not have too much of an impressive run till now. Devang Gandhi and Deep Dasgupta failed with the bat in the earlier match.

So, it’s about time that they deliver.

The bowlers’ performance, too have not been overtly impressive. While Ranadeb started well in the first match, he couldn’t keep up the good work. Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Sourashish Lahiri have also been far from impressive.

Veteran spinner Narendra Hirwani has been the real surprise of the tournament so far.

In the last match for Elite B, he took 12 wickets that enabled his team to the convincing innings victory.


Elite C (from): Shiv Sunder Das (capt.), S. Parab, Jyoti Yadav, Yere Goud, K. Pawar, Jacob Martin, V. Dahiya, K. Parida, N. Kulkarni, A. Bhandari, S. K. Trivedi, L.R. Shukla, N Doru, P. Dharmani.

Elite B (from): Gyanendra Pandey, Wasim Jaffer, Vinayak Mane, Amit Pagnis, Arjun Yadav, T. P. Singh, M. S. K. Prasad (capt), D. Kalyan Krishna, S. Bahutule, A. Uniyal, Harvinder Singh, S. Lahiri, S. Singh, R. Powar.

Elite A (from): S. Sriram (capt.), S. Ramesh, D. Vinay Kumar, Deep Dasgupta, Gagan Khoda, Y. Venugopal Rao, Devang Gandhi, Sarandeep Singh, Rahul Kanwant, Irfan Pathan (jr.), Ranadeb Bose, Sanjay Gill, Navdeep Singh and Daniel Manohar.

Plate B (from): J. Arun Kumar (capt.), Sujith Somasundar, Vijay Bharadwaj, A. Khurasia, Hemanth Kumar, Sreekumar Nair, A.V. Deshpande, C. Atram, Venkatesh Prasad, Sreeshant, D. Bandela, M. S. Dhoni, Narendra Hirwani, Rajesh Dhruv. (PTI)

Email This Page