The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Anandabazar Cup kicks off today

The IFA-organised Britannia Anandabazar Cup school football tournament will kick off Tuesday. The tournament, now in its fourth year, will see 184 schools taking part. According to IFA joint secretary K.D. Paul, the tournament will be played in four stages, intra-district, inter-district, Calcutta zonal and main phase for the Super Cup. Four top teams from the Calcutta Zone and 12 teams from the districts will play in the Super Cup.

Federation Cup

The Federation Cup is likely to be played in the city in August. Following an inquiry from Strata Management Group, the marketting agent of the AIFF, a senior IFA official said Monday that the state association is interested in holding the meet.

The Federation Cup was not held in the last season.

Tolly thrash EB

Tollygunge Agragami moved into the final of the CAB senior knock-out tournament thrashing East Bengal by ten wickets in the semi-final Monday. Batting first, East Bengal were bundled out for a paltry 116. Tollygunge notched up the win in 26.5 overs.

Brief Scores: East Bengal 116 in 39 ovs (Charanjit Singh 34; Fakruddin Sajjad 4/17). Tollygunge Agragami 117/0 in 26.5 ovs (Arindam Das 52 n.o., Kunal Bajpayee 51 n.o.). Tollygunge won by 10 wkts.

Beighton Cup

FCI (EZ) and EME Jallandhar moved into the third round of the Beighton Cup Monday. While FCI beat CESC 2-1, the Jallandhar team edged out SAI 8-6 in the tie-breaker after the match was locked 3-3 .

ITF Futures

The eight singles qualifiers for the $15,000 Exide ITF Futures meet were identified at the BTA Complex Monday. Of the two Indians in the fray, Kedar Tembe lost 0-6, 4-6 to Thai Sonchat Ratiwatana while Vishal Punna went down 2-6, 2-6 to Dutchman Matwee Middelkoop.

Squad named

The Bengal team for their under-25 cricket match against Assam was announced Monday. The match starts at the Eden Gardens from Friday.

THE SQUAD: Subhomoy Das (captain), Amitava Chakraborty, Subhradeep Ganguly, Ambar Roy, Sourav Sarkar, Anirban Chatterjee, Dibyendu Chakraborty, Subhojit Paul, Aniruddha Roy, Moyanko Chakraborty, Writam Kundu, Ayan Nandi, Avik Chowdhury, Shibsagar Singh.

GSI meet

The 20th Geological Survey of India all-India athletics meet will start at the SAI Eastern Centre Tuesday. Two hundred athletes will take part in the two-day meet.


TENNIS: ITF Futures meet at BTA Complex (Salt Lake) from 9 am.

CRICKET: CAB knockout meet, semis: Mohun Bagan vs Tapan Memorial (Eden Gardens, 10 am).

HOCKEY: Beighton Cup: ERSA vs All India Port (E. Bengal, 1.30 pm); Calcutta Customs vs Karnataka XI (E. Bengal, 3 pm); EME Jalandhar vs Bombay XI (Mohun Bagan, 3 pm).

Email This Page