The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Turning the clock back

Finals always throw up suspense and excitements. This is the occasion, every player aspires to be a part of. In the end, the Cup brimmeth over for some, while it turns out to be the Cup of woe for others. Here’s a brief lookback to what happened in the previous Cup finals:

1975 West Indies v Australia, London

Clive Lloyd led a young West Indies side while Ian Chappell was in charge of a aggressively confident team, backed by the speed and ferocity of Dennis Lillee and Jeff Thomson. Lloyd came in with the score on 50 for three. He raced to 102 in a total of 291. Australia made a spirited reply with Chappell clubbing 62 but they kept losing wickets to runouts, three to the electric young Antiguan Richards.

Brief Scores: WI 291/8 in 60 ovs (Clive Lloyd 102, Rohan Kanhai 55); Australia 274 in 58.4 ovs (Ian Chappell 62 not out). WI won by 17 runs.

1979, West Indies v England, London

West Indies were at their peak with an all-conquering pace attack and Richards without peer as a destructive batsman. Collis King set the tone with a brutally effective 86 and Richards completed the job with 138 not out. Chasing 287 to win, captain Mike Brearley (64) and Geoff Boycott (57) put on 129 for the first wicket but scored far too slowly.

Brief scores: WI 286/9 in 60 ovs (Viv Richards 138 n.o., Collis King 86); England 194 in 51 ovs (Mike Brearley 64, Geoff Boycott 57, Joel Garner 5/38). WI won by 92 runs.

1983, India v West Indies, London

Nobody gave India any chance against West Indies and India's total of 183 seemed barely adequate. Richards set off as if he planned to win the match on his own. But once India's 24-year-old captain Kapil Dev took a remarkable catch running backward in square-leg boundary, the rest became history.

Brief scores: India 183 in 54.4 ovs (Krishna Srikkanth 38); West Indies 140 in 52 ovs. India won by 43 runs.

1987, Australia v England, Calcutta

Australia compiled a respectable 253 for five. England were well-placed at 135 for two when captain Mike Gatting played his infamous reverse sweep and was dismissed.

Brief scores: Australia 253/5 in 50 ovs (David Boon 75); England 246 (Bill Athey 58). Australia won by 7 runs.

1992, Pakistan v England, Melbourne

Imran Khan had come out of retirement to lead a team which was woefully under-performing. Pakistan reached the final against a highly professional England outfit. Wasim Akram produced a devastating spell to tear through the England batting.

Brief scores: Pakistan 249-6, 50 overs (Imran Khan 72, Javed Miandad 58); England 227, 49.2 overs (Neil Fairbrother 62). Pakistan won by 22 runs.

1996, Sri Lanka v Australia, Lahore

Sri Lanka transformed the one-day game with savage hitting in the first 15 overs. Australia were restricted to 241 for seven and Aravinda de Silva confirmed he was a batsman of the highest class with 107 not out.

Brief scores: Australia 241-7, 50 overs (Mark Taylor 74); Sri Lanka 245-3, 46.2 overs (Aravinda de Silva 107 not out). Sri Lanka won by 7 wkts.

1999, Australia v Pakistan, London

After the exciting semi-final tie against South Africa, Australians made light work of Pakistan challenges and the match was over after barely 4-1/2 hours.

Brief scores: Pakistan 132 in 39 ovs (Shane Warne 4-33); Australia 133/2 in 20.1 ovs (Adam Gilchrist 54). Australia won by 8 wkts.

Email This Page