The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Lara promises big win over Bangla

Benoni: Brian Lara has pledged to pile on the misery for Bangladesh’s hopelessly outclassed team as the West Indies aim to get their World Cup campaign back on track here on Tuesday.

After an impressive and nail-biting three-run win over South Africa in the tournament opener in Cape Town, the Windies came crashing down when they were beaten by New Zealand in Port Elizabeth.

“With all due respect to the minnows, we have to score emphatic wins against them, since we don’t want to face a situation like we did in 1999 when we went out because of run rate,” said Lara.

Further, Lara warned that the momentum that had been built up with their win over the hosts had been squandered against the Black Caps whose battling display in the field thwarted the Caribbeans’ run chase.

“If we are going to win matches, it is necessary for one of our top three batsmen to take us into the last ten overs or so. Unfortunately, that did not happen against New Zealand. So a score that was more than gettable, proved to be beyond our reach,” Lara wrote in his Trinidad newspaper column.

“We usually approach our batting in four parts — aggression, accumulation, acceleration and finish. We were out of sync with all of them in Port Elizabeth and we lost our way between the tenth and 15th over.”

Lara was full of praise for Ramnaresh Sarwan Ridley Jacobs for their stand of 98 against New Zealand. “Having to get eight runs per over in the last ten overs is not a problem if you have wickets in hand. But Sarwan and Jacobs had to take chances and preserve their wickets at the same time.

“They did well and showed tremendous character, something which this team has in abundance. ”

By contrast, Bangladesh only have pride to play for having lost to Canada and Sri Lanka. Captain Khaled Mashud conceded his team was not playing well. “We are capable of doing better than this, but the batting is just not working,” he said.


West Indies (from): Carl Hooper (captain), Ridley Jacobs, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Vasbert Drakes, Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Brian Lara, Jermaine Lawson, Nixon McLean, Ricardo Powell, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan.

Bangladesh (from): Khaled Mashud (captain), Al Sahariar, Alok Kapali, Habibul Bashar, Hannan Sarker, Ehsanul Haque, Sanwar Hossain, Khaled Mahmud, Manjurul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammad Rafique, Talha Jubair, Tapash Baisya, Tushar Imran.

Umpires: Russell Tiffin (Zim) and Brian Jerling (SA).Third umpire: Billy Bowden (NZ). Match Referee: Gundappa Viswanath (Ind). (AFP)

Email This Page