The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Sasikiran stays ahead in national A meet

Mumbai: Overnight leader GM K. Sasikiran drew with GM Dibeyndu Barua to take his tally to 14.5 after Round 18 in the National A chess championship Wednesday. The top seed is two points clear of GM P. Harikrishna, who was held by GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly.

Brua is on 11 points, while Ganguly has 9.5. Neelotpal Das beat Arvind Shastry to move to ten points and close in on GM Abhijit Kunte, who has 11.

Bengalís Nisha Mohota lost to S. Vijayalakshmi in a tenth-round match, but still confirmed a third WGM norm. Her Elo rating is below requirement and her WGM title is yet to be confirmed.

Nisha, top seed Vijayalakshmi and No. 3 Aarthie Ramaswami share the lead in the womenís half with 7.5 points.


Menís 16th round: S. Soman (5.5) drew Sriram Jha (6.5); S. Kidambi (9) drew Subhrajit Saha (6.5); Pravin Thipsay (9) bt G.B. Prakash (8); K. Sasikiran (14.5) drew D. Barua (11); Tejas Bakre (9) bt Lanka Ravi (8); P. Harikrishna (12.5) drew S.S. Ganguly (9.5); M.R. Venkatesh (10) bt P. Mokal (5); Neelotpal Das (10) bt Arvind Shastry (6.5); V. Saravanan (4.5) drew Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (9); Abhijit Kunte (11) drew R.B. Ramesh(7.5). (PTI)

Email This Page