The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Tollygunge beat BNR within a day

Tollygunge Agragami wrapped up their CAB league match on the first day itself, thrashing BNR by nine wickets on Wednesday. After Bengal under-22 bowler Fakhruddin Sajjad (5/22) ran through the BNR line-up, opener Arindam Das helped Tollygunge coast to the target with an unbeaten 61.

Paikpara and Shibpur Institute also registered one-day wins, at the expense of City and Town, respectively. Sheikh Sona (5/20) did the star turn for Paikpara while Uttam Jash (6/52) and Subrata Ghoshal (71 n.o.) excelled for Shibpur.

Elsewhere, Abhishek Chakraborty smashed 157 to lift Dakshin Kalikata Sansad to 334 for nine against Ananda Bazar Patrika Sports Club. The day’s other centurions were Young Bengal’s Masadur Rehman (113 n.o.), Customs’ Anustup Majumdar (108) and Milan Samity’s Swapan Das (101).


n BNR 121 (Ambarish Mitra 63; Fakhruddin Sajjad 5/22). Tollygunge Agragami 122/1 (Arindam Das 61 n.o.). Tollygunge won by 9 wkts.

n Young Bengal 295/9 (Masadur Rehman 113 n.o., Sougata Mitra 46; Koushik Dasgupta 3/68) vs Kumartuli.

n Shyambazar 229 (Anirban Chatterjee 57, Indrajit Ghatak 43, Samrat Sen 36; Priyankar Mukherjee 4/70, Khagen Patra 4/81). George Telegraph 15/2.

n Barisha 370/7 (Soutam Mitra 67, Subhasis Dikshit 50, Rishi Sharma 45 n.o.; Wrichik Majumdar 3/118) vs Wari.

n City 106 (Vijay Agarwal 26; Sheikh Sona 5/20, Syed Intikhab Alam 3/20). Paikpara 110/4 (Soumik Mukherjee 37 n.o., Amit Singha 34). Paikpara won by 6 wkts.

n Victoria 274 (Nitish Agarwal 63, Surajit Das 49; Pradipta Majumdar 4/80, Murtaza Lodhgar 3/84) vs East Bengal.

n Customs 417/7 (Anustup Majumdar 108, Partha Bairagi 94, Manoj Tiwari 78, Riddhiman Saha 57; Ajit Singh 3/125). Ballygunge United 25/2.

n Milan Samity 239/7 (Swapan Das 101; Sumit Dogra 4/40). Tapan Memorial 7/2.

n Rangers 229 (Aditya Dutta 59 not out, Raj Bhattacharya 33; Sudip Chanda 5/52). Kalighat 27/2.

n Town 184 (Satyabrata Gupta 52, Samar Chatterjee 47; Uttam Jash 6/52, Pulak Majumdar 3/72). Shibpur Institute 186/3 (Subrata Ghoshal 71 n.o., Samir Majhi 57, Tanmoy Bag 40). Shibpur won by 7 wkts.

n Dakshin Kalikata Sansad 334/9 (Abhishek Chakraborty 157, Abhishek Banerjee 63) vs ABP Sports Club.

Ambar Roy meet

Sonarpur Sporting Union and Behala CCC won their matches against Garia Milan Sangha and Russa United, respectively, in the Ambar Roy sub-junior meet Wednesday.

Rudrajit Datta’s unbeaten 119 powered Sonarpur to 227 for two. Garia Milan Sangha were then bundled out for 47 with Dipanjan Mitra scalping three for 18.

Behala CCC registered a 46-run win, thanks to Susanta Banik’s 116.

Bengal in semis

Bengal entered the last four of the 61st Raja Sareswardas Memorial hockey tournament in Rajnandgaon, Chhattisgarh, Wednesday. According to information received here, Bengal edged out Indian Air Force 2-1 with goals from Anil Ekka and Thomas Nag. Bengal will now meet Artillery Centre (Hyderabad).

Schools’ meet

Hosts Mahadevi Birla Girls’ HS School beat M.B. Shishu Vihar 2-0 in the team championship of the inter-school badminton tournament. In Wednesday’s other matches, Modern High beat Our Lady Queen of the Mission and G.D. Birla defeated Army Public School by identical 2-0 margins.

District sports

The three-day annual sports meet of the North 24 Parganas DSA will be held at Metal Sports Factory, Ishapore, from Friday.


CHESS: State meet: Matches at Khudiram Anusilan Kendra.

BADMINTON: Inter-school meet: Matches at Mahadevi Birla Girls’ HS School Sports Complex.

GENERAL: Calcutta Primary School Council-organised district level annual sports meet at Rabindra Sarobar Stadium from 10 am.

Email This Page