The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Ziauddin smashes unbeaten 230

Mohammed Ziauddin’s huge, unbeaten 230 was the highlight of Wednesday’s CAB league senior division matches. Ziauddin hit out for Kalighat, versus High Court, in a massive opening stand with his team declaring at 382 for no loss in 77 overs.

Ziauddin’s 272-ball innings was laced with six sixes and 24 boundaries. Also chipping in pretty well was Manoj Roy, with an unbeaten 135 (193 balls, 13x4). In reply, High Court were 26 sans loss till stumps were drawn. Swapan Das, too scored a century (104), in Manoharpukur Milan Samity’s 316 versus Rajasthan, whi le Probal Dutta and Goutam Shome both scored 123, the former remaining unbeaten, as Dakshin Kalikata Sansad scored 312 for eight versus Netaji Subhas Institute. Their first wicket partnership was worth 242.


n Milan Samity 361 (Swapan Das 104, Arindam Dan 52, Amit Shaw 51; Manoj Bhadra 4/88) vs Rajasthan.

n Kalighat 382/0 dec. (Md Ziauddin 230 n.o., Manoj Roy 135 n.o.). High Court 26/0.

n Kumartuli 202 (Stabak Bhowmick 53, Biswajit Sharma 45; Khagen Patra 4/58, Jaishankar Sarka 3/30). George Telegraph 69/0.

n DKS 312/8 (Probal Dutta 123 n.o., Goutam Shome 123; Debabrata Adhikary 3/41, Debashis Mukherjee 3/47) vs NSI.

n Mohunlal Club 253/8 (S Chatterjee 46, Amarjit Jha 45 n.o., Rajib Roy 43; Goutam Mukherjee 6/64) vs BNR.

Ambar Roy meet

Shimla Bayam Samity beat Shyambazar Club by 114 runs in their Pepsi Ambar Roy sub-junior cricket meet match. Sayan Paul of Shimla made 74.

Brief scores: Shimla Bayam Samity 232 (S Paul 74). Shyambazar 118 (Satyaki Dutta 30; S Paul 3/13). Shimla won by 114 runs.

Ladies’ golf

P. Mishra had the day’s best scratch score of 154 in the state ladies’ amateur golf championship (gold division) at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club. A. Chopra and S. Khanna follow at 157 and 158, respectively. In the silver division (Kanungoe Trophy) B. Juneja is best at 178, while in the Burdwan Cup (bronze division), S. Sharma grossed 210 to lead.

Delhi champions

Delhi emerged champions in the inter-state squash championship, winning the final 4-1 over Services at the Calcutta Racket Club. Delhi raced to a winning 3-0 lead before letting go a bit. In the inconsequential last two matches (reduced to best-of-three), there was just one setback.

Off from the inter-state, there is more squash at the Calcutta Racket Club with the East India meet starting Thursday.

Most top players of the inter-state, like Ritwik Bhattacharya, Navneer Narain, Anuj Kalia, Dhiraj Singh, will remain in action, as will local stars Dalip Tripathi and Deepak Agarwal.


Gaurav Nandrajog (Del) bt Capt. Anuj Kalia (Ser) 9-2, 3-9, 9-3, 10-8; Abhimanyu Jain (Del) bt Capt. Rohit Teotia (Ser) 10-8, 9-2, 9-3; Ritwik Bhattacharya (Del) bt Capt. Navneet Narain (Ser) 4-9, 9-7, 9-5, 9-7; Yeshverdhan Singh (Del) bt Cdt Shakti Singh 9-5, 10-8; Capt. Tarun Nani (Ser) bt Varun Kataruka (Dli) 9-5, 6-9.


CRICKET: CAB senior div. league — second day of matches at different venues.

FOOTBALL: IFA Shield — Tollygunge Agragami vs Indian Bank (East Bengal), Vasco vs TFA (Md. Sporting). Matches from 2.15pm.

GOLF: State ladies’ amateur championship at RCGC.

SQUASH: East India meet, first day at Calcutta Racket Club from 5pm.

Email This Page