The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Milan Samity ride Soham-Swapan stand

A 219-run opening stand between Soham Chowdhury (116) and Swapan Das (92) helped Milan Samity notch up a five-wicket win against Tollygunge Agragami in the CAB senior division league Sunday.


n Aikya Sammilani 240. Aryan 237 (Tirtha Roy 77, Sovon Mitra 59; Farashatullah 4/54, Raju Singh Chowan 5/107). Aikya won by 3 runs.

n CPT 332/9. George Telegraph 330/8 (Priankar Mukherjee 81 n.o., Wasim Ahmed 69, Jitendra Pandey 43, Swarup Chatterjee 46). Match drawn.

n Tollygunge Agragami 294. Milan Samity 300/5 (Soham Chowdhury 116, Swapan Das 92). Milan Samity won by 5 wkts.

n Shibpur Institute 345. Burnpur CCC 89 (Uttam Jash 4/2). Shibpur won by 256 runs.

n Wari 271 (Subhojit Pal 68; Vedraj Pal 4/72, Manoj Tewari 3/105). Cal Customs 272/4 (Anustup Mazumder 111, Nilambar Saha 70). Customs won by 6 wkts.

n Kumartuli 256 (Kamal Hasan Mondal 82, Biswajit Sharma 59; Chiranjib Guha 4/111, Iresh Saxena 3/90). Suburban 257/4 (Ayan Nandi 101, Ramesh Biswas 57, Chanchal sarkar 50 n.o.). Suburban won by 6 wkts.

School cricket

Don Bosco and St Xavier’s entered the finals of the under-13 and under-16 events in the inter-school cricket meet organised by SLOBA. In the semi-finals Sunday, Don Bosco beat Cathedral Mission by 35 runs while St Xavier’s overcame Nava Nalanda by nine wickets.


n Under-13 — Don Bosco 188/6 in 20 ovs (Soumyadipta Mukherjee 68). Cathedral Mission 153/8 in 20 (Hasanur Alum 43, Vivek Prasad 30). Don Bosco won by 35 runs.

n Under-16 — Nava Nalanda 207/7 in 25 (Promit Moitra 66, Abhishek Bhattacharya 48; Areeb Hasan 3/23). St Xavier’s 209/1 in 21.2 (Aadit Osatwal 86, Arjun Roy 67). St. Xavier’s won by 9 wkts.

Sub-jr meet

Jagmohan Dalmiya, CAB president, Sunday inaugurated the Pepsi-CAB Ambar Roy sub-junior meet at Baishnabghata Patuli Upanagari ground. A total of 140 teams are taking part in this year’s tournament, which is being held in 15 venues in and around the city. The second and final phase of the meet will be held at Eden Gardens in April-May.

In the inaugural match, defending champions SLAB beat P. Sen MCCC by 256 runs.

Ladies’ golf

Nearly 63 golfers will take part in the West Bengal Ladies Amateur Golf championship at the RCGC from Tuesday. The four-day event is split into three categories — gold, silver and bronze, depending on the handicap. The strokeplay event will be played over four rounds and has attracted well-known names like Anjali Chopra, Vandana Agarwal and Shruti Khanna.

Junior volleyball

Orissa boys beat Assam 25-16, 25-16, 25-22 in the semi-final of the East and North East junior volleyball championship. They will meet the winners of Bengal and Jharkhand in the final. In the girls section, Bengal A and B have entered the final.

Bengal lose


VOLLEYBALL: East and North East junior meet: Finals at WBVA, 3 pm.

SQUASH: Inter-state meet at Calcutta Racket Club.

Email This Page