The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Waqar to lead, Anwar recalled
- Pakistan include Azhar Mahmood while England persist with injured White

Islamabad: Pakistan Wednesday recalled veteran opener Saeed Anwar and allrounder Azhar Mahmood for the World Cup while accommodating most of the cricketers currently touring South Africa despite their indifferent performance.

The announcement of the 15-member squad also ended all debate on captaincy as Waqar Younis was retained skipper for the February 9-March 23 tournament in South Africa.

Announcing the team, chairman of national selectors Wasim Bari said in Lahore that the team looked formidable to win the World Cup despite recent poor performances and it had the capacity, talent and capability to regain lost glory.

“Of the 15 selected players, 11 have previously played in World Cups. Besides, there are 14 boys who are playing or have played on the recent tour to South Africa,” he said.

Bari said Shoaib Akhtar had been included after he was cleared on health grounds by medical specialists in South Africa.

Supporting the decision to include Wasim Akram, Bari said: “The man will be playing his fifth World Cup and at the age of 36 with 490 wickets in the bag, he is still the most feared bowler in the world.”


Waqar Younis (captain), Saeed Anwar, Taufeeq Umer, Saleem Elahi, Younis Khan, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul Haq (vice captain), Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Wasim Akram, Rashid Latif, Mohammed Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq.

Other squads

The Bangladesh, Namibia and Kenya squads were also announced Tuesday.


Squad: Khaled Mashud (captain), Hannan Sarkar, Al-Sahariar, Mohammed Ashraful, Habibul Bashar, Sanwar Hossain, Alok Kapali, Tapash Baisya, Mohammed Rafique, Monjurul Islam, Talha Jubair, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tushar Imran, Ehsanul Hoque, Khaled Mahmud.


Squad: Deon Kotze (captain), Jan-Berry Burger, Louis Burger, Sarel Burger, Morne Karg, Danie Keulder, Bjorn Kotze, Lennie Louw, Gavin Murgatroyd, Gerrie Snyman, Stefan Swanepoel, Burton van Rooi, Melt van Scoor, Rudi van Vuuren, Riaan Walters.


Squad: Steve Tikolo (captain), Thomas Odoyo, Joseph Angara, Asif Karim, Hitesh Modi, Collins Obuya, David Obuya, Kennedy Obuya, Maurice Odumbe, Peter Ongondo, Bhijal Patel, Ravindu Shah, Martin Suji, Tony Suji, Alpesh Vadher.

Email This Page