The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

EB romp to victory

East Bengal eased to an easy 191-run victory against Kumartuli in the CAB first division league match Sunday. In reply to East Bengal’s 370 for seven declared, Kumartuli were bundled out for a paltry 179, with Pradipta Mukherjee taking four for 42.


n Belgachia United 313. Ballygunge United 220/8 (Sajal Sarkar 70; Writtam Kundu 5/56). Match drawn.

n City AC 138. Eastern Railway 139/3 (Souvik Mukherjee 59 no). Eastern Railway won by seven wickets.

n CPT 419. Taltola Institute 188 (Sheikh Ansari 6/80). CPT won by 231 runs.

n Dakshin Kalikata Sansad 295. BNR 212/5 (Suvashish Sarkar 62 no; Mithun Dutta 3/54). Match drawn.

n East Bengal 370/7 (Safi Ahmed 108). Kumartuli 179 (Pradipta Majumdar 4/42, Sudipta Mukherjee 3/23). EB won by 191 runs.

n George Telegraph 320/9. Young Bengal 259/9 (Rajesh Chakraborty 44 no; Khagen Patra 5/75). Match drawn.

n Paikpara Sporting 180. Shibpur Institute 183/3 (Samir Majhi 92 no). Shibpur won by seven wickets.

n Netaji Subhash Institute 285. Manoharpukur Milan Samity 280/5 (Vikas Mansatta 89 no; N.V. Prakash 3/38). Match drawn.

n Wari 457/6. Burnpur CCC 275 (Rajesh Patel 62 no). Wari won by 182 runs.

Inter-school cricket

St Xavier’s and South Point won their matches in the inter-school meet at the St Lawrence ground Sunday.

Summarised scores

n Cathedral Mission 145/6 in 20 overs (Karan Das 33, Abhishek Nair 3/44). St Xavier’s 148 /6 in 18.2 overs (Ishan Upadhyay 44) St Xavier’s won by 4 wkts.

n St James 129 in 23.2 ovs ( Sreyas Basu Dasgupta 39; Soumyabha Bhattacharya 4/17). South Point 130/2 in 16.3 ovs (Soumyabha Bhattacharya 37). South Point won by 8 wkts.

Ezra Cup

The 61 CAV/NDA won the Ezra Cup (10 goals) on a better goal-average. In Sunday’s round robin match, 61 CAV/IMA edged out FWPC/ASC 10-5 ½. Major Sirohi became the highest scorer of the tournament with seven goals.


Biren Dey and Pragya Jena of the Tollygunge Club won the pair’s event of the international show-jumping, junior and sub-junior national and eastern India equestrian meet Sunday.

Other winners

Vijay Singh (Show-jumping, novice grade); Priyanka Robertson (Confined Riding); Maj. Rathore/ Lt. Rohit Dagar (Jumping fault & out relay); Zafia Anklesaria (Ladies’ hacks); Vivek Advani (Child’s pony, Beginners A I); Yash Vardhan Sethia (Child’s Pony, Beginners A II); Kedar Shirole (Child’s pony Beginners B I); Revant Bagaria (Child’s Pony Beginners Group B II); Prabhjyoy Singh (Individual, international show-jumping); Ashish Dabriwal (Open Jumping); Devika Mukherjee/ Saran Casyab (Pairs Group II); Akshita Bhanjdeo (Child’s Pony Advance).

Archery meet

Paril Lepcha of Bengal won the girls’ under-18 title in the Vanavasi archery meet at the SAI Sunday.


GOLF: Gooricke East India meet at the RCGC from 8: 30 am.

Email This PagePrint This Page