The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Alokendu back in Ranji squad

Calcutta: Bengal coach Sambaran Banerjee shrugged off his team’s victorious run in the East Zone one-dayers in Tripura and said the upcoming four-day Ranji Trophy match against Hyderabad was a different proposition altogether.

“It’s a different ball game and the real test will start now,” Sambaran said soon after the 14-member state squad was selected on Monday.

“The team is balanced. Our batting and fielding is okay but bowling leaves a lot to be desired,” the coach felt. The match will be played in Hyderabad from Thursday to Sunday and the team leaves for the venue early Tuesday morning.

Alokendu Lahiri, on the back of his good performance in the local league, made the cut while Moyanko Chakraborty and Anirban Chatterjee were dropped from the squad, which beat champions Railways at Siliguri in the last match.

According to sources, Nikhil Haldipur, who seemed to have redeemed himself and put up a decent show in Tripura, was not considered in the end, though he was very much in reckoning.

Sambaran later stressed he would be aiming for one point in Hyderabad. “Hyderabad is a good mixture of experience and new talents. In fact, (Ambati Tirupati) Rayudu is in good nick. I have a few options in hand, but unless and until I see the wicket there, nothing can be said now,” he maintained.

The coach, though, pointed out that he had heard the wicket in Hyderabad would offer assistance to the faster bowlers.

Comeback man Alokendu said he would give it his best shot. “It’s a good chance and I’ll give my level best to keep my place in the team,” said the batsman.


Rohan Gavaskar (captain), Deep Dasgupta, Devang Gandhi, Utpal Chatterjee, Amitabha Chakraborty, Subhamoy Das, Subhradeep Ganguly, Sanjib Sanyal, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Sourashish Lahiri, Ranadeb Bose, Shib Shankar Pal, Murtaza Lodhgar, Alokendu Lahiri. Coach: Sambaran Banerjee.

Under-17 squad

Bengal will take on Orissa in the next Vijay Merchant Trophy (under-17) match in Cuttack from December 20 to 22. Prinan Dutta will lead the 14-member squad, which leaves the city on Tuesday.


Prinan Dutta (captain), Avik Mallick, Indrajit Majumdar (wicketkeeper), Debraj Roy, Debabrata Das, Partha Sarathi Bhattacharya, Suporbhat Biswas, Harjinder Singh Gill, Suman Das, Priyobrata Dutta, Sayak Ghosh, Sourav Roy, Abhishek Saha, Suman Maity.

Email This PagePrint This Page