The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

N 24 Parganas triumph

North 24 Parganas DSA clinched the boys team title in the National Insurance 68th state and inter-district table tennis championship being held at the Khudiram Anushilan Kendra Tuesday. They beat East Calcutta 3-1 in their last Super League encounter. Subhadip Das won both his matches against Sourav Pradhan and Niloy Basak while Amarnath Das beat Jayanta Sarkar. Snehashish Bhattacharya, however, lost to Niloy Basak. Hooghly came second in the category while East Calcutta clinched the third spot.

Meanwhile, Mouma Das and Poulami Ghatak made winning starts to their singles campaigns. While Mouma beat Sanjukta Sen 11-8, 11-5, 11-7, 11-9, Poulami thrashed Sunana Bose 11-2, 11-7, 11-5, 11-6. On the other hand, men’s top seed Soumyadeep Roy moved into the second round with a 8-11, 11-3, 11-6, 11-7, 13-11 victory against Sourav Pradhan.

Other Results (first round): Women’s Singles: Susmita Roy bt Madhumita Chowdhury 11-6, 11-3, 12-10, 13-11; Anindita Chakraborty wo Manisha Chakraborty. Men’s Singles: Subhadeep Das bt Chiranjeet Bose 6-11, 9-11, 7-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-4, 11-5; Kallol Ganguly bt Sujoy Das 11-8, 11-7, 11-5, 11-5; Arup Basak bt Apoorva Thakur 11-6, 11-5, 11-3, 16-14; Anirban Nandy bt Pallav Kundu 11-4, 11-4, 11-7, 11-5; Sourav Chakraborty bt Rak Thakur 11-6, 11-7, 12-10, 11-8; Ranabir Das bt Anirban Tarafdar 11-8, 11-5, 11-9, 11-6; Arjun Dutta bt Abu Rizwan 9-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-4, 11-8, 11-8, 9-11, 11-9.

Schools’ meet

Loreto House won the girls team championships while Chowbhaga High School boys emerged best.

OTHER WINNERS: Girls — 200m: Maitreyee Banerjee (Kamal Girls); Long jump: Mousumi Gomes (Loreto House); Shot put: Radhika Bajaj (Loreto House). Boys — 200m: Barun Nayak (Chowbaga HS); 400m: Arup Naskar (Chowbaga HS); 100m obstacle race: Benoy Mondal (Chowbaga HS); Long jump: Arup Naskar (Chowbaga HS); Shot put: Frederick Correa (St James’).

Floodlit tennis

OTHER WINNERS: Girls under-14, first round — Madhurima Choudhury, Mohana Sarkar, Aakriti Dokania, Apoorva Tyagi, Moumita Bhattacharjee.

[It was erroneously reported in these columns Tuesday that Dhruv Gupta won the under-14 boys’ title. He actually won his first-round match, defeating Sarvesh Agarwal.]

CU lose


n Calcutta University 172 in 31.3 (Angshuman Roy 35; Deepak Singh 4/32). Benaras Hindu University 175/1 in 25 (Avinash Verma 68). BHU won by 9 wkts.

n Patna University 240/5 in 35 (Deepak Raja 83 n.o., Ajitabh Ranjan 53 n.o., Pravar Kumar 65). North Eastern Hill University 132 in 32.1 (Gino Sangam 32; Sanjiv Ranjan 3/17, Pravat Kumar 3/21). Patna won by 108 runs.

n L.N.Mithila 97 in 36.2 (Anirban Banerjee 3/24, Ayan Nandi 3/8). Burdwan 99/5 in 25.3 (Ayan Nandi 43 n.o.). Burdwan won by 5 wkts.

n B.N. Mondal got a walkover from Tripura.


CRICKET: Ranji Trophy: Bengal vs Himachal Pradesh, Day IV (Eden Gardens, 9.30 am) l East Zone inter-university meet: Magadh vs ERABU (Fedn.); Jaiprakash vs Calcutta (CU); Rabindra Bharati vs Purvanchal (FD Salt Lake); Gorakhpur vs APS (Narendrapur). Matches from 9 am.

TABLE TENNIS: State & inter-district meet: Individual events at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from 8 am.

GOLF: Royal Challenge GP: Day II tee-off at Tollygunge Club at 7 am.

TENNIS: Floodlit meet (Saturday Club, 3.30 pm).

BASKETBALL: Senior state meet at Chetla Park and Rakhi Sangha grounds from 5.30 pm.

Email This PagePrint This Page