The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Gopichand, Aparna to participate

Thane: Pullela Gopichand is among four men players while Aparna Popat is the only woman player selected to represent the country at the Dutch and Denmark Open badminton championship to be held from October 22 to November 3.

The Badminton Association of India (BAI) selection committee, which met here Tuesday, also announced selection of Abhinn Shyam Gupta, Nikhil Kanetkar and Chetan Anand, a BAI release said here Wednesday.

Sachin Ratti will join Gopichand, Gupta and Anand in the senior Asian badminton championship to be held in Bangkok from November 12 to 17. In women’s section, Aparna will be joined by B. R. Meenakshi.

The committee also named four boys and four girls for the junior world championship to be held in South Africa from October 25 to November three.

The boy’s team consists of Rohan Castelino, Nishad Dravid, Bahniman Bora and Anand Pawar while the girl’s team comprises Krishna Deka Raja, Aditi Mutatkar, Aparna Balan and Dhanya Nair, the release said.

V Diju, Sanave Thomas, Arvind Bhat and Thomas Kurien and two women — T. Murgunde and C. H. Deepthi have been picked in the youth teams for the Toulouse, Scottish and Welsh Open championships to be held from November 14 to December 1.

Email This PagePrint This Page