The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Five national records set on final day

Calcutta: North Zone emerged overall champions on the concluding day of the 14th inter-zonal junior athletics championships at the Salt Lake Stadium Thursday with a total of 607 points.

It was also a day when five national and two meet records were created.

East Zone came second with 584 points while South Zone finished third with 497. West ended at the bottom of the ladder with 238.

East Zone, however, won the overall title for girls with 324 points while North Zone claimed the second spot with 497.

Deepa Chaudhury of North Zone created a national record in the under-20 girls pole-vault category clearing a height of 2.80m, which was .50m higher than the previous best.

Alpesh of North Zone eclipsed the national record in the girls under-16 shot-put covering a distance of 11.53m. The earlier record was 11.05m.

Buddhuram Singh of East Zone created a long jump national record in the boys under-16 category with a distance of .04m, the earlier record being 6.99m.

The fourth national record of the day was created by P. Shankar of South Zone with 6208 points, 57 points higher than the former mark.

K. Ervin of South Zone was credited with the national record in the 100m dash for under-18 boys.

He clocked 10.87 seconds, .03 seconds clear of the earlier record.

K. Jonson of East Zone created a meet record in the 5km walk for the under-16 boys clocking 23:00 minutes, the earlier record stood at 23:15.

Suman Kumari of North Zone created a meet record in the hammer throw for under-20 girls, covering a distance of 46.87m, 1.31m better than the earlier record.

Meanwhile, three female athletes were asked for sex test. Only one of them appeared and cleared the test. The other two kept themselves away and were automatically disqualified.


Boys: Gurmeet Singh (NZ, U-20, 10km walk), T. Kameshwar Singh (EZ, U-18, 10km walk), Ramesh Kumar (NZ, U-18, long-jump), Kamlesh Baghel (WZ, U-20, 5000m), Bibin Joseph (SZ, U-20, 110m hurdles), Krishnam Raju S. (SZ, U-18, 110m hurdles), Assa Mohamed N. (SZ, U-18, pole-vault), South Zone (U-18 4x400m relay), North Zone (U-20 4x400m relay), Bikash Singh (NZ, U-20, 3000m steeple-chase)

Girls: Jyoti Kolekar (SZ, U-18, 3000m), Tucy Deshmukh (EZ, U-20, long-jump), East Zone (U-20, 4x400m relay), South Zone (U-18 4x400m relay), Pooja Merita Jose (SZ, U-18, shot-put), Sandra ancilla Dí Souza (SZ, U-20, shot-put), Vijila KJ (SZ, U-20, 400m hurdles)

ATF camp

Four Bengal athletes have been chosen to the camp at Patiala for the junior Asian Track and Field event in Bangkok from October 28 to 31.

The athletes to make the cut are Sushmita Singha Roy (pentathlon and high-jump), Pinky Pramanik (100m, 200m, 400m), Harishankar Roy (high-jump) abd Bachu Durlabh (400m).

Email This PagePrint This Page