The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Trinath sets 2000m national record

Calcutta: South Zone’s P. Trinath set a national record in the boys’ under-16 2000m on Day II of the 14th inter-zonal junior athletics championships at the Salt Lake Stadium Tuesday. He eclipsed the earlier record of 5:38.08 with a time of 5:36.77.

The day also saw the creation of five meet records, three of them by South Zone’s athletes. S. Pavani clocked 52:57:4 minutes in the girls’ under-20 10km walk breaking the earlier record of 54:58:7 minutes. P. Shankar finished the boys under-20 400m with a time of 47.94 seconds, .06 of a second faster than the previous record.

K. Apparao, also of South won the boys’ under-18 400m event with a time of 48.66 seconds, bettering the earlier record of 48.74 seconds.

West Zone’s Amit Sharma broke the meet record in the boys’ under-16 400 m category clocking 50.59 seconds, taking 0.29 seconds off the previous record. Indubala of North Zone created a meet record in the under-16 girls’ discus with a throw of 39.12 m, the earlier record being 37.25m.

Coming close on the heels of Monday’s instances of mismanagement, there was yet another incident on Tuesday.

This time it almost cost East Zone a gold medal when Mukesh Nehra, a male athlete, was declared winner in the under- 18 100m hurdles for girls, instead of Monalisa Bora, also of East. The officials did not realise their gaffe till the decision was made official, before clearing up the mess.

Other winnerS

Girls: Rajwinderjit Kaur (NZ, U-18 5km walk), S. Varalaxmi (SZ, U-16 3km), Bindu Srimadhavi (SZ, U-20 100m hurdles), Monalisa Bora (EZ, U-18 100m hurdles), Monica Joon (NZ, discus U-18), Baljit (NZ, discus, U-20), Deep Mary C.S. (SZ, U-20 triple jump), A.C. Ashwini (SZ, U-16 400m), Aruna Kumari (SZ, U-18 400m), Chitra K. Sonam (EZ, U-20 400m)

Boys: Mukesh Kumar Yadav (NZ, U-20 1000m), Surab Vij (NZ, U-16 shot put), Santosh Kumar (SZ, U-18 shot-put), Ranvijay Singh (NZ, U-20 shot put), Amit Sharma (WZ, U-16 400m), Jaiprakash Patel (NZ, U-18 1500m), Ghamanda Ram (WZ, U-20 1500m), Aman Joshi (WZ, U-16), Sonbir (NZ, U-18 discus) Simranjit Singh (NZ, U-20 discus).

Email This PagePrint This Page