The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

Protests mar 3rd div. ties

String of protests marked the third-division relegation play-off matches between YMSA and Garden Reach at the YMCA ground and National SC and Subhasdwip at the High Court ground Tuesday.

In the first match, YMSA were leading Garden Reach by two goals when the referee Goutam Sandhu Khan stopped play, citing wet ground conditions. The YMSA officials lodged a protest with the IFA, saying the conditions were perfectly all right.

The second match did not start at all, referee Sukriti Dutta putting up similar reasons. But the officials of both the clubs lodged their protest against the refereeís decision with the IFA.

Meanwhile, in first division group A action, City AC beat Milan Bithee 2-0, Ashok Singh and Javed Mondal scoring the goals. The other match between Railway FC and Mohammedan AC ended goalless. United Students and Calcutta Police were held to a 2-2 draw.

Douglas, Isiaka get 2-match ban

East Bengal defender Douglas DíSilva and Tollygunge player Isiaka Awoyemi were suspended for two matches by the IFA league sub-committee Tuesday. Both of them were shown the red card in their Super Division match on Saturday. Meanwhile, the IFA has decided to request the AIFF to release East Bengalís national under-20 team players for the clubís concluding match on September 25.

Rohan joins Kalighat

Bengal captain Rohan Gavaskar signed for Kalighat in the CAB inter-club transfers Tuesday. Gavaskar had played for East Bengal last season. Sixty players signed on the day with three withdrawing.

Exposure trip

The East Zone Cricket Academy in association with Sambaran Banerjee Cricket Academy, will send a 15-member squad to South Africa on an exposure trip. They will play 14 matches in all, including ones against under-17 and under-19 state sides in Johanesburg and Durban.

THE SQUAD: Akshat Pandey (captain), Bazlur Rahman, Adil Jahangir, Md Jawaid Ali, Pramod Kutty, Himadri Paul, Avik Mukherjee, Santanu Kayal, Tathagata Chakraborty, Moloy Roy, Krishnendu Dey, Rajib Bose, Kaushik Thakkar, Siddhartha Chaudhuri, Sanat Bapari. Coach: Saugata Das


The ninth national kick-boxing championship will start at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from Thursday. The three-day meet has been jointly organised by Kick Boxing Association of West Bengal and Rotary Club of Calcutta. More than 700 kick-boxers from all over the country will take part in the meet.


SOCCER: CFL Super Division: East Bengal vs Md Sporting (Salt Lake Stadium) First Division Group A: ECLSA vs Howrah Union (Md Sporting); Rajasthan vs Wari (Mohun Bagan); George Telegraph vs City (East Bengal); CFC vs Peerless (Tarun Sangha). From 3:15 pm.

Email This PagePrint This Page