The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
India’s overseas victories

The innings-and-46-run triumph at Headingley Monday was India’s 18th overseas victory in 172 Test matches. Overall, they have played 359 Tests and won 72, lost 120, drawn 166 and tied 1. For Sourav Ganguly, this was his 11th win as captain (fifth overseas) in 26 Tests. Following is the full list of India’s overseas Test victories, with the names of respective captains:

l 1967-68 vs NZ in Dunedin, 5 wkts; MAK Pataudi/Barry Sinclair

l 1967-68 vs NZ in Wellington, 8 wkts; Pataudi/Graham Dowling

l 1967-68 vs NZ in Auckland, 272 runs; Pataudi/Graham Dowling

l 1970-71 vs WI in Port-of-Spain, 7 wkts; Ajit Wadekar/Gary Sobers

l 1971 vs England in The Oval, 4 wkts; Wadekar/Ray Illingworth

l 1975-76 vs NZ in Auckland, 8 wkts; Sunil Gavaskar/Glenn Turner

l 1975-76 vs WI in Port-of-Spain, 6 wkts; Bishan Singh Bedi/Clive Lloyd

l 1977-78 vs Australia in Melbourne, 222 runs; Bedi/Bobby Simpson

l 1977-78 vs Australia in Sydney, innings & 2 runs; Bedi/Simpson

l 1980-81 vs Australia in Melbourne, 59 runs; Sunil Gavaskar/Greg Chappell

l 1986 vs England in Lord’s, 5 wkts; Kapil Dev/David Gower

l 1987 vs England in Leeds, 279 runs; Kapil/Mike Gatting

l 1993-94 vs Lanka in Colombo, 235 runs; M. Azharuddin/Arjuna Ranatunga

l 2000-01 vs Bangladesh in Dhaka, 9 wkts; Sourav Ganguly/Naimur Rehman

l 2001-02 vs Zimbabwe in Bulawayo, 8 wkts; Sourav/Heath Streak

l 2001-02 vs SL in Kandy, 7 wkts; Sourav/Sanath Jayasuriya

l 2001-02 vs WI in Port-of-Spain, 37 runs; Sourav/Carl Hooper

l 2002 vsEngland in Leeds, innings & 46 runs; Sourav/Nasser Hussain.

Compiled by Ravi Kant Srivastava

Email This PagePrint This Page