59 players share lead
11 from Bengal in squad
In The City
Bangalore Racing/ Silvertre may score
Track trials

Bhubaneswar, July 5: 
As many as 59 players are currently leading the field at the end of the second round of the main event of The Telegraph Schools� Chess Championship presented by Horlicks here Friday. All the players have two points each.

The top five players Friday scored facile wins. Top seed Abinash Das beat Ashutosh Choudhury while second seeded and former under-18 girls� state champion Abhisikta Patnaik defeated A. A. Mohapatra. Fourth seeded Aurobind Khuntia, who is the reigning state U-14 boys champion defeated Avinash Agrawal. Similarly, fifth seeded Y. Kranti Kumar defeated B Venktesh.

The main event of the day started with 249 players, who had qualified from the last two days� elimination rounds. Seven more rounds would be played to decide the top five qualifiers from the Bhubaneswar leg.

The Orissa State Chess Association is organising the meet in association with Alekhine Chess Club of Calcutta at Sahidnagar.


Calcutta, July 5: 
New East Bengal goalie V.P. Satish Kumar will lead India in the qualifying round of the Asian Football Confederation�s U-20 championship. A 20-member squad was announced Friday.

India are in group 4 with Bhutan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan. All matches will be played at Salt Lake Stadium from Wednesday to July 14. India begin against Bhutan on the opening day.

Champions of the 11 qualifying groups will join hosts Qatar in the final round of the meet, likely to take place in October.

Eleven Bengal players have made the squad and the players are currently undergoing training under chief coach Islam Akhmedov at SAI Eastern Centre.


Goalkeepers: V.P. Satish Kumar, Imran Khan (Bengal), Milagrio Medeira (Goa); Defenders: Amandeep Singh, Manas Das, Amjad Ali Khan, Palash Karmakar (Bengal), Shibamani Eshwaran (Karnataka), Prasant Jaggi (Goa), James Singh (Karnataka); Midfielders: Malswan Tulunga, Bhuvan Chandra Joshi (Bengal), T. Bongo Singh (Goa), Md. Bin Hasan (Karnataka); Forwards: Birjab Machahary (Assam), Joyful Hauzel (Meghalaya), Pradeep N.P. (Kerala), Syed Rahim Nabi, Ashim Biswas, Subhas Chakraborty (Bengal). Chief coach: Islam Akhmedov.


July 10: Kyrgyzstan vs Tajikistan; India vs Bhutan. July 12: India vs Tajikistan; Kyrgyzstan vs Bhutan. July 14: Tajikistan vs Bhutan; India vs Kyrgyzstan. (First match from 4 pm, second from 6 pm).


July 5: 

AIFF not to release players

AIFF secretary Albert Colaco has firmly put his foot down on the issue of releasing players for club assignments from the Asian Games-bound preparatory camp. �No players will be released from the camp at any cost. It�s final,� Colaco, who was in the city Friday in connection with the forthcoming AFC under-20 championship, said.

The camp, which is going to be new India coach Stephen Constantine�s first assignment, commences with 35 players in Jamshedpur from Saturday. Constantine is also understood to have been averse to the idea of succumbing to club pressures on this issue.

Former captain Bhaichung Bhutia has confirmed participation in the camp through an e-mail to Colaco. The strength of the camp will be trimmed to 22 within July 31.

Meanwhile, the committee probing last year�s IFA Shield final fiasco between East Bengal and Brazil�s Palmeiras, was yet to finalise its report, despite the fact that the AFC had the deadline set at March-end.

Bengal boys in semis

Bengal boys reached the last-four stage in double scull and fours pairs events, but Tamil Nadu in sub-junior section and Services in senior events stole the show on the second day of the fifth sub-junior and seventh sprint national rowing championships, at Lake Club on Friday.

Favourites Services played to form and stormed into semi-finals of all events in the Elite and Challenger groups. In the fours of Elite division, Services will meet the winner of Bengal and Chandigarh in the title-clash.

In the fours of both sub-junior girls and boys, Bengal made it to the semi-finals.

In sub-junior girls, Tamil Nadu reached the last four stage in all four events � single scull, double scull, pairs and fours.

Easy for Railway FC

Debashish Roy and S. Mandi scored apiece to help Railway FC script a 2-0 win over Rajasthan while Milan Bithee rode Sheikh Aksar Ali�s first-half strike to beat CFC in the IFA first division group A action Friday. Bandhan Naskar of Rajasthan was thrown out of the match for double bookings.

Eastern Coalfields AC and Customs settled for 2-2 truce while matches between Police AC and Bata SC, and Kiddepore SC and George Telegraph were finished goalless.

Invitation waterpolo

South Eastern Railway whipped Indian Life Saving Society 12-3 and Calcutta Sports Association beat Corps of Signal Service Club 9-3 in the Dr Bimal Kumar Chandra open invitation waterpolo championships at Calcutta Swimming Club on Friday.


FOOTBALL: CFL, first division, group A � WB Police vs Md. AC (Mohun Bagan). Group B � Barisha SC vs Bally Protiva Club (Rabindra Sarobar), Anushilani vs Calcutta Police Club (Md. Sp); Muslim Institute vs Salkia Friends (East Bengal); Victoria SC vs Milan Samity (SAP-1). All matches from 3.30 pm.

ROWING: Fifth sub-junior national championships at Lake Club from 7.30 am.

WATERPOLO: All-India open invitation meet at Calcutta Swimming Club.


Bangalore, July 5: 
It is Silvertre versus Bold Chieftan who look best of the 12 in fray to fight it out for the 1,200m H. B. Gundappa Gowda Memorial Cup here on Saturday. Both are smart winners, in their last essays and they maintain their winning form. But considering that Silvertre is receiving chunks of weight from Bold Chieftan, the Rashid Byramji-ward, in partnership with Harish, is expected to clinch the issue.


2 pm: Uthhare 1. Noble Regent 2. Ideal Cut 3.

2.30 pm: Sky Rocket 1. Assumer 2. Firecrest 3.

3 pm: Falconet 1. Spark of Love 2. Another Time 3.

3.30 pm: Persian Goddess 1. Moonlight Rays 2. Kilkemny 3.

4 pm: Silvertre 1. Bold Chieftan 2. Different Ballgame 3.

4.30 pm: Mythical Star 1. Kyosoba 2. Caape City 3.

5 pm: Crystal Delight 1. Royal Mission 2. Arcaro 3.

5.30 pm: Three Coins 1. Rythm �N� Blues 2. Super Green 3.

Day�s Best: Mythical Star

Double: Sky Rocket & Three Coins.


Calcutta, July 5: 
The following horses were seen exercising on Friday:

Outer sand track

600m: Freedom Warrior (Amil) in 45s; (400m) 30.

Monsoon track

800m: Software Classic (Gowli) and Phunney Phellow (F. Khan) in 57s; (400m) 25s.

600m: Calculus (F. Khan) and Cupola (Rutherford) in 40; (400m) 25s. They were level.

Sand track

1,000m: Declarationoflove (Rb) in 1-15s; (400m) 27s.


Maintained by Web Development Company