Nominated chief for CAJ
Blue Star whip Deutsche Bank
India move up 3 spots
Ootacamund Races/ Fairy Winter romps home

Jamshedpur, May 13: 
The much controversial elections of the Cricket Association of Jharkhand (CAJ) concluded today with the president of the Ranchi District Cricket Association Amitabh Choudhary, who is also the superintendent of police here, being nominated as the president.

The elections had come under a cloud after the Jharkhand faction of the erstwhile Bihar Cricket Association (BCA) broke up into CAJ with headquarters in the city, and the Jharkhand Cricket Association with headquarters at Ranchi, over issues of voting rights.

However, doubts over participation from 13 of its affiliates were cleared early this morning after six of the affiliated districts decided to cast votes.

Soon after the elections of its other office bearers, the CAJ held an emergency meeting and Choudhary was unanimously nominated at the helm since nobody had filed nomination for the president’s post. For the general secretary’s post former cricketer Ramesh Saxena defeated his sole rival and the current BCA secretary B.N. Singh by 85 votes.

Filling in the three vice-presidents post are Udit Sarkar, Dinesh Upadhaya and T.G. Mukherjee, while Govindo Mukherjee was elected treasurer.

“It had been a testing time for all of us with the association’s birth itself being under a cloud. But, I am glad that half of it is over and with the co-operation of all concerned I am sure that the other half would also be completed successfully,” said Choudhary, hinting about CAJ’s affiliation with the BCCI.

However, it now remains to be seen now whether the JCA still remains resolute over holding a separate election as suggested earlier, in June.


Calcutta, May 13: 
Blue Star routed Deutsche Bank 11-0 at The Telegraph Merchants’ Cup five-a-side soccer meet at the CC&FC this evening. TCG Software and Web Development each scored 7-0 victories over Indian Aluminium and McCann-Erickson, respectively.


IISCO drew Tata Steel A 0-0; Sony bt Tata NYK 2-0; HTA bt Spice Cell 1-0; Duncans bt 3-1; Blue Star bt Deutsche Bank 11-0; Madhya Bharat bt ITC A 3-0; ICICI Yellow got walkover from Infar; Bata bt Goodricke 3-0; Paes en Sport bt Microwave Communications 3-1; TCG Software bt Indian Aluminium 7-0; The Telegraph bt Assam Co. 5-1; HSBC bt BDA 1-0; Williamson Magor bt Norinco 4-2; Bayview bt ITC Infotech 1-0; ICICI Blue drew Tata Tea 1-1; Aptech bt Skytech Solutions 6-0; Selvel B bt Tata Steel B 2-0; Smithkline Beecham bt Bharat Raut 3-1; TCT drew Usha Martin 0-0; Transways bt ACCEL ICIM 2-0; Taj Bengal bt McNally Bharat 3-0; Carrit Moran bt TIL 5-0; Modi Xerox bt Transworld 3-1; India Foils bt Apeejay 5-0; Selvel A bt PriceWaterhouseCoopers 4-0; Seagrams bt Contfreight/Hanjin 3-0; The Park drew J. Thomas 1-1; Berger Paints bt Bates India 4-0; Jet Airways bt HDFC Bank 5-0; Web Development bt McCann-Erikson 7-0; ABN Amro bt The Hindustan Times 4-1.    

Calcutta, May 13: 
They may be out of contention for a World Cup berth, but India’s performance in the qualifiers have helped them move up three places in the Fifa rankings.

In March, before they played their first qualifier against the UAE in Bangalore on April 8, India were ranked 124th and are now 121st. They have 332 points and are followed by Malta on 319. Sudan is 120th with 333.

In the qualifiers, India beat the UAE at home but went down 0-1 away. They drew with Yemen on both occasions, 1-1 at home and 3-3 away. They are yet to play Brunei at home, beating them 1-0 in Bandar Seri Begawan. But lying third in the group, India have no chance of qualifying.

Brazil still head the rankings on 807, followed by France on 792.


Ootacamund, May 13: 
The Robert Foley- trained Fairy Winter scored an runaway victory in the South India Corporation Nilgiris Derby Stakes, at the Ootacamund (Udhagamandalam) races held on Sunday. A. Imran Khan partnered the Foyer-Adament daughter to victory.


(With inter-state dividends)

1. Bannari Plate 2,000m: (5-2-1) Supreme Glory ( A. Imran) 1; Rebounding Flame 2; Montjeu Star 3. Won by: 4; 2-1/2; (2-15.7). Tote: Win Rs 13; Place: 12; 18; Quinella: 22; Tanala: 93. Fav: Supreme Glory (5).

2. Kumararajah M. A. M. Muthiah Cup 1,400m: (4-3-5) Accelerating Star (A. Imran) 1; Code Word 2; Cut Ahead 3. Won by: 1-1/4; Nk; (1-30.9). Tote: Win Rs 16; Place: 12; 19; 25; Quinella: 59; Tanala: 821. Fav: Accelerating Star (4).

3. Turf Authority Cup 1,400m: (13-1-10) Unaproachable (Anil K.) 1; Own Ordain 2; Sultanat 3. Won by: 3/4; 2; (1-30.3). Tote: Win Rs 465; Place: 64; 27; 35; Quinella: 1,169; Tanala: 36,470 (C.o). Fav: Sultanat (10).

4. Hyderabad Race Club Cup 1,800m: (4-7-5) Opera Star (Raji) 1; Queen’s Ransom 2; Sterling Fantasy 3. Won by: 2-1/4; 2-1/2; (2-0.6). Tote: Win Rs 31; Place: 14; 17; 20; Quinella: 97; Tanala: 650. Fav: Sterling Fantasy (5).

5. South India Corporation Nilgiris Derby Stakes 1,600m: (6-2-1-7) Fairy Winter (A. Imran) 1; Desert Power 2; Crowned Prince 3; Happy Bride 4. Won by: Dist; 2; 2; (1-44.7). Tote: Win Rs 12; Place: 13; 18; 13; Quinella: 38; Tanala: 119. Fav: Fairy Winter (6).

6. Avalanche Plate 1,400m: (1-5-3) Silent Honour (Raji) 1; Head Hunter 2; Majestic Style 3. Won by: 1-1/4; 3/4; (1-29.8). Tote: Win Rs 62; Place: 24; 35; Quinella: 177; Tanala: 1,109. Fav: Majestic Style (3).

7. Sim’s Park Cup, Div-I 1,600m: (3-9-5) Supreme Challanger (Raji) 1; Money Matters 2; Calypso Reef 3. Won by: 6; 1-1/4; (1-44.1). Tote: Win Rs 40; Place: 15; 47; 51; Quinella: 420; Tanala: 4,459. Fav: Dyanamic Girl (1).

8. Sim’s Park Cup, Div-II 1,600m: (5-2-3) Sanctified Star (Prem) 1; Red Jacket 2; Diamond Ray 3. Won by: Dist; 2-1/4; (1-41.8). Tote: Win Rs 26; Place: 20; 20; 41; Quinella: 111; Tanala: 1,034. Fav: Sanctified Star (5).

Jackpot: Rs 19,303; (C) Rs 2,106.

Treble: (i) Rs 1,898; (ii) Rs 8,719; (iii) Rs 1,673.

Maintained by Web Development Company