Second title in two days for E. Bengal
Paes-Bhupathi in year’s 1st final
Mumbai Season/ Prakash, Dallas champions

Calcutta, April 29: 
A day after clinching the CAB senior division League title, East Bengal annexed the A.N. Ghosh Trophy today.

In their last match of the round-robin meet, East Bengal beat Mohun Bagan by four wickets. Srikant Kalyani’s allround show was the highlight the day.

East Bengal finished with 26 points from seven games (six wins, one abandoned) followed by Kalighat with 22 (five wins, one loss, one abandoned). Mohun Bagan finished third with 20 (five wins, two losses).

Deciding to bat first, Mohun Bagan lost Amitava Banerjee early but Nikhil Haldipur (98 off 108 balls, 7x4)) and Devang Gandhi (72 off 78 balls, 5x4, 1x6) steadied the innings with a 127-run partnership for the second wicket.

Bagan were going strong at 205 for two after 38 overs. With Haldipur in full flow, it seemed they would cross the 250 mark. But Kalyani smashed Bagan’s hopes, running through the middle-order with his gentle off spin.

Bagan’s innings was cut short by an over for time lost in setting the sight screen in order after it collapsed on the ground.

East Bengal were reduced to 94 for four but Kalyani (50 off 68 balls, 6x4) and Dharmendra Singh (63 n.o. off 62 balls, 4x4, 1x6) put on 81 runs for the fifth wicket. Dharmendra and Gautam Shome (27 off 20 balls, 2x4) added 65 in a brisk sixth-wicket stand to seal victory.

Shukla displeases Utpal

Bagan skipper Utpal Chatterjee today decided to ‘rest’ Laxmi Ratan Shukla. This follows the allrounder’s improper behaviour with him following a run out during the knockout final. The CAB has already slapped a show cause notice on Shukla.

“I’ve told the club that I will not lead the side if Shukla plays. I’m ready to serve the team only as a player if Shukla is included,” Utpal said. He will stick to his decision in the J.C. Mukherjee final versus Kalighat from Tuesday.

BRIEF SCORES: Mohun Bagan 240/6 in 44 ovs (Nikhil Haldipur 98, Devang Gandhi 72; Srikant Kalyani 5/37). East Bengal 241/6 in 43.1 (Srikant Kalyani 50, Dharmendra Singh 63 n.o.). East Bengal won by 4 wkts.


Calcutta, April 29: 
Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi advanced to their first final of the year following a close two-set win at the $375,000 Atlanta Challenge meet yesterday.

According to information received here, the fourth-seeded Indians ousted second seeds Bob and Mark Bryan (US) 7-5, 7-6 (7-2). This was Paes-Bhupathi’s third straight-set win this week.

Challenging them for the winners’ laurel will be top seeds Rick Leach and David McPherson, who eliminated No. 3 pair Ellis Ferreira and Grant Stafford.

The last time Paes and Bhupathi featured in a final was at the world championship in Bangalore last December.

Ramanathan hopeful

Ramanathan Krishnan strongly believes that a few players will emerge in the next two or three years to take over the mantle from Paes and Bhupathi, says PTI from Chennai.

“Just like Leander developed when Ramesh was close to the end of his career, there will be a couple of players to fill in the void when the current top players quit,” Krishnan said.


Mumbai, April 29: 
Jockey K. P. Appu was in good nick winning four races on Sunday, the last meeting of the Mumbai racing season. But it was Prakash Bhonsle who emerged as the champion jockey with a tally of 68 winners. Dallas Todywalla, too, claimed the trainers’ championship with 43 winners.


(With inter-state dividends)

1. Gratitude Plate, Div-II 1,200m: (1-7-6) Flossy (Aadesh) 1; Multi Millionaire 2; Lovingly 3. Won by: SH; 3-3/4; (1-14.5). Tote: Win Rs 78; Place: 18; 17; 20; Quinella: 136; Tanala: 1,278. Fav: Double Up (2).

2. Rose de Bahama Trophy 1,100m: (4-2-6) My Solitaire (Rupesh) 1; Green Paradise 2; Little Champ 3. Won by: 2-1/2; SH; (1-6.1). Tote: Win Rs 67; Place: 29; 15; Quinella: 52; Tanala: 321. Fav: Green Paradise (2).

3. Jockeys’ Trophy 1,600m: (4-1-2) Sun Charmer (Rajendra) 1; Charismatic 2; Reprobate 3. Won by: 4-3/4; 1-1/2; (1-40.8). Tote: Win Rs 26; Place: 13; 16; 25; Quinella: 37; Tanala: 164. Fav: Sun Charmer (4).

4. Remembrance Plate 1,600m: (2-3-6) Big Blaze (Appu) 1; Kraft 2; Resist 3. Won by: 3-3/4; 1/2; (1-39.7). Tote: Win Rs 21; Place: 12; 37; 11; Quinella: 228; Tanala: 1,669. Fav: Big Blaze (2).

5. Gratitude Plate, Div-I 1,200m: (9-1-5) Black Cadillac (Appu) 1; Numero Uno 2; Smart Hunter 3. Won by: 1; 1/2; (1-14.8). Tote: Win Rs 109; Place: 33; 36; 18; Quinella: 804; Tanala: 8,419. Fav: Draculla (2).

6. Trainers’ Trophy 1,200m: (2-8-6) Dream Lover (Appu) 1; Amber Wine 2; Omerta 3. Won by: 1-1/2; 1/2; (1-13.3). Tote: Win Rs 53; Place: 18; 19; 60; Quinella: 127; Tanala: 4,041. Fav: Bound By Honour (1).

7. Trocadero Plate 1,600m: (4-9-10) Castle Grey (Prakash) 1; Nothing Better 2; Park Lane 3. Won by: 2-3/4; 3/4; (1-39.9). Tote: Win Rs 18; Place: 14; 39; 25; Quinella: 139; Tanala: 1,042. Fav: Castle Grey (4).

8. Nelston Trophy 1,200m: (8-4-6) Tobler (M. Narredu) 1; Rewarding King 2; Roll Of Dice 3. Won by: Dist; SH; (1-11.6). Tote: Win Rs 26; Place: 12; 27; 12; Quinella: 102; Tanala: 272. Fav: Roll Of Dice (6).

9. Attila Plate 1,100m: (9-6-11) Prince Shazaan (Appu) 1; Temple Quest 2; Musical Melody 3. Won by: 1-1/4; SH; (1-6.9). Tote: Win Rs 40; Place: 17; 181; 46; Quinella: 1,232; Tanala: 45,569. Fav: Zeta Jones (7).

Jackpot: Rs 10,977; (C) Rs 633.

Treble: (i) Rs 436; (ii) Rs 815; (iii) Rs 306.

Maintained by Web Development Company