205-run win for Cathedral
E. Railway, BSF draw
Bengal wary of Manipur
250 in fray

Calcutta, April 26: 
Punit Rawat led Cathedral Mission to a 205-run victory over St Augustine’s Day School in the CAB under-19 inter-school meet today.

Punit top-scored with 84 in his school’s total of 267 for seven and then took four for 15 in sending the opponents packing for just 62 .


Cathedral Mission HS 267/7 in 38 ovs (Punit Rawat 84, Avishek Mitra 43). St. Augustines Day’s School 62 in 19.1 ovs (Punit Rawat 4/15). Cathedral Mission won by 205 runs.

Jadavpur Vidyapith 240/9 in 40 ovs (Sayan Banerjee 49, Subhajit Saha 43; Kaushik Thakur 3/37). Calcutta Anglo Gujrati School 126 (Kaushik Thakur 37; Subhajit Saha 4/16, Dipshankar Das 3/19). Jadavpur won by 114 runs.

Ashok Nagar 159 in 38.4 ovs (Anujit Kundu 28; Riki Malik 2/16). South Point 160/3 in 31.4 ovs (D. Mukherjee 47, Riki Malik 35). South Point won by 7 wkts.

Hartley’s HS 156 in 32.2 ovs (Manpreet Singh 37, Dipon Mitra 31; Soumya Paul 4/23). National High School (Boys) 157/5 in 18.5 ovs (Aloke Khettry 49, Subhojit Paul 40; Abhishek Mukherjee 2/18). National High School won by 5 wkts.

U-16 schools’ meet


St. Xavier’s Collegiate 204/9 (Neelabh Chatterjee 78 n.o.; Somarghya Guha 3/33). Vivekananda Mission 96 (Somnath Sarkar 18; Baninder Singh 4/21, Neelabh Chatterjee 3/7). St. Xavier’s won by 108 runs.

Jadavpur HS 183/6. Calcutta Boys School 141 (Mrinmoy Bandopadhyay 4/21). Jadavpur HS won by 42 runs.

N.C. Kolay tourney


Kartick Bose CCC 161/6 in 25 ovs (Krishnendu Dey 57, Arnab Saha 51; S. Biswas 2/21). P. Sen XI 162/4 in 24 ovs (Soumik Mukherjee 48; Abhijit Shaw 2/29). P. Sen won by 6 wkts.

Russa United 125/6 in 25 ovs (Avishek Mondal 37, Jit Majumdar 25; Surya Shome 2/14). Milan Samity 126/4 in 24.4 ovs (Shumik Basak 33 n.o., Madhusudan Hazra 31; M Sharma 2/29). Milan Samity won by 6 wkts.

Rajasthan Club 119/9 in 25 ovs (Moinak Roy 36; Amitesh Ghosh 4/30, Taufiq Ali 2/22). Shute Banerjee CCC 120/0 in 11.5 ovs (Taufiq Ali 55 n.o., Dibyendu Das 50 n.o.). Shute Banerjee won by 10 wkts.

Ashok Malhotra CCC 98 in 22.2 ovs (Anand Sahani 4/17, Arup Kabasi 2/16). BNR 100/1 in 22.4 ovs (Dibyendu Das 53 n.o.). BNR won by 9 wkts.

Jr cricket from Monday

A junior cricket meet in memory of Dr. Shyamaprasad Mukherjee will be held at Netaji Subhas Institute ground (Sealdah) and East Calcutta District Sports Federation ground (Beliaghata) from Monday to June 9.

Lal doubtful starter

East Bengal look circumspect in treating Wari AC when the two teams will clash in the final of CAB senior division League championship play-off final at Eden Gardens tomorrow.

On paper, last year’s runners-up East Bengal, start favourites but know their opponents are no easy meat either. Although Arun Lal is a doubtful starter, East Bengal’s batting line-up looks strong with the likes of Srikant Kalyani, Rohan Gavaskar and in-form Narendra Singh Negi. Sourashish Lahiri, who fashioned the team’s semi-final win against Calcutta Port Trust, will again have to rise to the occasion.


Calcutta, April 26: 
Eastern Railway SA and BSF (South Bengal) played out an exciting draw in their BHA first division group A league clash at the Mohun Bagan ground today. The teams shared four goals and two points, the result helping both to stay in touch with frontrunners CESC.

While ERSA have 13 points from eight matches, BSF have 11 from a game less.

Aryan were still not in a position to field a team and stayed away for a third time in as many matches. CLW benefitted by picking up full points.

Khalsa Blues brightened chances of topping group B after overcoming Jagrihi 2-0. Jagdish Singh and Jagat Singh got into the goalscoring act.

Khalsa Blues, with one match to play, have so far dropped three points. Also in running for the top honours are BSF (North Bengal) and Punjab SC.

BSF (South bengal) got a quick goal in their match against ERSA, Mansukh Tete putting finishing touches to a well-crafted move down the right.

The railwaymen fought back well and finally got the equaliser two minutes from half-time. An inviting cross from the right eluded a well-placed Nisar Ahmed inside the dee, but Petrus Ekka was on hand to push the ball into the open goal.

Crossing over on level terms, Eastern Railway quickly got their nose in front. It came off a penalty corner and, for a change, the pushing and stopping were perfect. So was the hit, a direct one taken by Parvez Alam.

But it wasn’t long before BSF levelled scores. With the railway defence making a mess of a routine clearance, S. Lugun pounced on the confusion to drive the ball in.

The remaining minutes saw ERSA going into overdrive to regain the advantage. They almost succeeded, Ekka’s crafty scoop going a foot off target.


Calcutta, April 26: 
Manipur stand in Bengal’s way to success in the women’s national football meet, starting in Ludhiana from May 10. Bengal coach Indrani Sarkar made no bones about this.

“Manipur is undoubtedly the biggest challenge for us in the meet. Our loss to them in the final last year still haunts us and this time again, they stand in our way,” she said.

Sarkar said the girls are being “specially trained to have a psychological upperhand” against the defending champions.

“We often choke against them and so we have a separate strategy against them this time round. Girls have been told to get psychologically stronger,” Sarkar said.


250 IN FRAY 
Calcutta, April 26: 
The state mini and sub-junior tennis championships, part of the AITA zonal circuit, will be held at South Club from Monday.

The meet, organised by Ad-Out Sports and sponsored by Bharat Petroleum, will feature four singles events — under-14 boys and girls, under-16 boys and girls.

Around 250 entries have been received from all the eastern states. The qualifiers will be held over the weekend. The final will come off May 5.

Leading the U-16 seedings are local players Sabyasachi Bose and Pooja Mitra. Assam duo Abhinav Bora and Varsha Datta head the U-14 seedings lists.

Scholarship to the tune of Rs 50,000 will be awarded to the boys and girls. Winners in the boys’ categories stand to earn Rs 1,500 each while the girls’ champions will receive Rs 1,250 apiece.

School basketball

Baidyapara HS edged out La Martiniere for Boys 55-48 in the WBBA inter-school basketball meet today.

In the girls’ event, Rashmoni Balika Vidyalaya beat Assembly of God Church 26-11 and La Martiniere downed Ashok Hall 16-11.


Maintained by Web Development Company