8 from Bengal named
Kalighat stun East Bengal
Bagan call up Khalique
Customs, FCI draw

Calcutta, April 16: 
The first batch of trainees for BCCI�s East Zone academy was selected this morning. Among the 20 named are eight from Bengal.

The launch of the academy at the SAI Eastern Centre in Salt Lake has been pushed back from April 20 to May 1. Though facilities at the SAI need to be expanded to accomodate the venture, there is an air of expectation as the launch draws near.

�Oh yes, I�m looking forward to it,� said Arun Lal, chief coach of the zonal academy. �It�s going to be a great thing.�

Lal was not too worried that he won�t have all facilities when the academy opens. �Let�s start and find out what we really need,� he said, even as he pointed out that a bowling machine and video facilities were certainly among them. With the indoor facilities at the Eden Gardens being further developed, the trainees may well get the chance to put in more work during the monsoons.


Saurav Sarkar, Ritesh Jaiswal (wk), Saujan Biswas, Gourav Sharma, Mayukh Biswas, Ajoy Garai, Avik Chowdhury, Avishek Chakraborty (all Bengal); Bignesh Mohanti, Rakesh Mohanti, Sk Jahangir, Niranjan Behera, S.P. Priyadarshan (all Orissa); N.J. Prakash (wk), Arshad Iqbal, Ajit Singh (Bihar); Subhash Chakraborty, Devbhakta Jamata, R. Banik, B. Bhowmick (all Tripura).

Stand-byes: Avishek Jhunjhunwala, Manabendra Yadav, Protioman Sanyal (all Bengal); Rajib Saha (Tripura); Khanid Saikia (Assam).

A ticket for Arindam

Arindam Das has earned himself a ticket to the famous Australian Cricket Academy in Adelaide with his prolific scoring.

�We�re writing to the authorities at the academy and, hopefully, Arindam wll be accepted for a stint there,� CAB president Jagmohan Dalmiya said soon after the decision was ratified at a working committee meeting of the association this evening.

Das, a member of the India under-19 squad for Tests against England earlier this year, has scored over 2,000 runs in 30 innings at various levels this season at an astonishing average of 86.56. He scored 524 in nine innings for Bengal in the (under-19) Cooch Behar Trophy at an average of 58.20. He had one fifty and two centuries, including a 153 against Maharashtra. In the under-22 meet, he had an average above 100 with a highest score of 178.

This is the first time CAB is sponsoring a player for coaching abroad, though Rajasthan Club had footed the bills for a trip to the MCC Academy at Lord�s for Utpal Chatterjee, Gautam Shome (jr), Sohanlal and Sagarmoy Sen Sharma.


Calcutta, April 16: 
Kalighat stunned East Bengal to storm into the final of the J.C. Mukherjee cricket tournament today. They meet Mohun Bagan, who too had an almost equally amazing result as they overwhelmed Wari AC�s mammoth score with a lot to spare in the other semi-final.

Kalighat had done the harder part of the job when they dismissed East Bengal yesterday for 269 at the Deshbandhu Park. Today Safi Ahmed (87) and Humza Firozie (69) ensured that the big chance was not squandered as they guided Kalighat to a five-wicket win.

At the Kalighat ground, the stumping chance that Wari�s Minaksha Mondal missed when Amitava Banerjee was in his 20s is sure to haunt the wicketkeeper for some time. The Mohun Bagan opener went on to score 165 as the target was reached in the 79th over. Sanjiv Goel got 117, Devang Gandhi 55 while Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Deep Das Gupta remained unbeaten on 41 and 35 respectively.

The injury to Ranadeb Bose, who had to leave the field at tea, was also a big blow to Wari.


At Kalighat: Wari AC 474 for 5 (85 overs). Mohun Bagan 475 for 4 (78.2 overs) (Amitava Banerjee 165, Sanjiv Goel 117, Devang gandhi 55, Laxmi Ratan Shukla 41 n.o., Deep Das Gupta 35 n.o., Nikhil Haldipur 31). Mohun Bagan won by 6 wkts.

At Deshbandhu Park: East Bengal 269 (84.2 overs). Kalighat Club 271 for 5 (64.1 overs) (Safi Ahmed 87, Humza Firozie 69). Kalighat won by 5 wkts.

Title for Victoria

Victoria Sporting Club crushed High Court Club�s hopes of a second division �double� with a big win in the junior knockout final at the Eden Gardens today.

Having hit up 247 for seven in their allotted 45 overs, Victoria had High Court shot out for 170. The only note of defiance came from Abbas Asgari, the only player in today�s match from among the 11 that won High Court the league the other day.

BRIEF SCORES: Victoria Sporting Club 247 for 7 (45 overs) (Partha Bairagi 64, Sougata Dutta 55, Partha Sarathi Bhattacharya 40; Indranil Basu 3/35). High Court Club 170 (38.2 overs) (Abbas Asgari 60; Debabrata Paul 3/9, Neelotpal Mullick 3/28). Victoria won by 77 runs.


Calcutta, April 16: 
Mohun Bagan, missing firepower upfront, is seeking the services of Abdul Khalique of Mohammedan Sporting through the lien system for their final three matches in the National Football League.

The speedy striker practised with the Mohun Bagan players this morning and sources in the club say that coach Subrata Bhattacharya is �pleased� with his new man in the green-and-maroon brigade.

Khalique�s induction has been prompted by the imminent departure of two Bangladeshi players. Alfaz Ahmed and Naqeeb are all set to end their stint with the Calcutta team and go back home to sign for the Bangladesh league.

The transfers of players in the Bangladesh league will be held from April 20 to 23.

However, it has been learnt that the coach is keen on fielding the Bangladeshi recruits in Mohun Bagan�s next NFL clash, with Salgaocar on Friday, before releasing them. Bagan also play Vasco on April 25 and ITI on April 30.


Calcutta, April 16: 
FCI and Calcutta Customs played out a dull 1-1 draw in the BHA first division group-A league today.

At Mohun Bagan ground, Gurdhyan Singh put FCI ahead in the third minute through a penalty corner. Ayaz Ahmed, however, restored parity for Customs on the cusp of halftime when he converted a penalty stroke. Thereafter, both teams went into a defensive shield and much of the play was restricted in midfield.

At Howrah Union ground, Khalsa Blues dominated the proceedings right from the beginning and convincingly beat Belgachia United 4-1 in a group B tie. Parminder Singh opened the floodgate for them as early as in the ninth minute of the match. Manoj Mishra then converted a brilliant Khalsa move into success, hitting a ball in from the D circle. Hardip Singh completed the Khalsa�s scoring spree with a brace, one in each half.

Biswanath Deb Roy netted in a consolation goal for Belgachia seven minutes from the time.

Title for Baisakhi

Calcutta: Baisakhi Das emerged champion, edging past Paramita Ghosh on the basis of better progressive score in the 27th state women chess meet today. today.

At Khudiram Anushilan Kendra, she beat Suchandra Chatterjee to finish her seventh-round tally at 5.5 points. Paramita, on the other hand, settled for truce with Pubali Goswami to finish with same points. But Baisakhi got through thanks to her better progressive score.

Pre-tournament favourite Swati Mohota finished third (5) followed by Pubali (5). In the state junior meet, Saptarshi Roy and Pranjal Das and Ayan Lahiri were in joint lead with six points after round 7.

Howrah meet

A chess meet, organised Howrah District Chess Association will be held at Howrah Town Hall from April 28 to May 1. Total prize money is Rs 10,000.

P. Sen Trophy

Calcutta: The P. Sen Trophy cricket meet will begin on May 4. The top two teams from three groups will be joined by two CAB colts teams in the second stage. Teams will be allowed to add three new players to their existing rosters � either new outstation recruits or those on lien from other clubs.    

Maintained by Web Development Company