Mouma in, Anindita out
Allegations against Bagan ruling group
Bengal women lose to Air India
Gary O�Brien U-16 coach
Baisakhi Das sole leader
Mumbai Races/ Elegant Jade may win again

New Delhi, April 13: 
Mouma Das sneaked into the Indian quartet for the team event of the 15th Commonwealth table tennis championships beginning tomorrow. She replaces Anindita Chakraborty as the fourth member.

Mouma, the highest-ranked Indian (world No. 230 with 927 points), was not included in the quartet originally, the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) citing lack of form as the reason.

Actually, the TTFI wasn�t aware of the change in rules. Unlike the previous system, performance in the last edition was not used as a yardstick to determine seedings. Instead, the Commonwealth classification committee decided to use the points aggregate of the three top players in each squad to determine the seedings.

Once this was pointed out to the TTFI, Mouma was inducted in the squad. Her inclusion, at Anindita Chakraborty�s expense, increased India�s tally by 76 points and took them above England in the seedings. The hosts are thus No. 4, and if they win their group, will avoid top seeds Singapore, Malaysia and New Zealand in the quarter final knockout stage.

According to chief referee A.M. Lele, there will be a draw of lots for the knock-out stages. The four group winners will be clubbed together and drawn to play any of the four runners-up.

Chief coach Manjit Dua feels a favourable draw could help India�s chances of reaching the semi-finals in both the men�s and women�s events.

Dua is confident of the men topping their group as Chetan Baboor and 18-year-old national champion Soumyadeep Roy, a computer applications student, are in good nick.

On the opening day Indian men are expected to easily beat Mauritius. The tie against New Zealand Sunday will be a crucial one. In the women�s event, India are in the same group as England who will be the biggest hurdle.

The Indians have trained with the new (heavier) Nitttaku 40 mm balls on the blue-coloured Stag tables, but have had no exposure on the synthetic surface being used at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium.


Calcutta, April 13: 
The faction that rivals the ruling clique at the Mohun Bagan Club today alleged at a press meet the United Mohun Bagan Football Team Pvt Ltd, during the last two financial years, has committed �discrepancy� to the tune of nearly Rs 48 lakh�.

Leading the allegations � an exercise that contesting factions of the club often engage in � was Arun Kumar Agarwal. He told reporters that the club officials were entering the team in meets (including the National League) as Mohun Bagan Athletic Club, but debiting that club account for a company account credit.

Club secretary Anjan Mitra conceded that the club as a whole has no status per se. It is neither a company, nor a registered society, and hence all transactions of its accounts bear rather questionable legal status.

The rival faction had filed a petition last year before the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate court alleging about financial misappropriation in the club. The Hastings Police Station subsequently inquired and produced a report to the court. The rival faction has based its allegation about inconsistency in financial transactions involving the club in that police report.

Agarwal also came down heavily on the balance sheet presented by the United Mohun Bagan Football Team Pvt Ltd for the past two fiscals, describing it as �ridiculous�. �These balance sheets appeared to have been made haphazardly, lending no credence to the ruling body�s claim that the club being a company, is operating with transparency and professionalism,� Agarwal maintained.

Meanwhile, Pulak Mukherjee, a member of the club�s rival faction, alleged he was being threatened to withdraw a case against the club�s ruling officials.


Calcutta, April 13: 
Bengal women suffered a 99-run defeat at the hands of Air India in the semi-final of Indira Priyadarshini Champions Trophy today.

Batting first at High Court ground, Air India made 205 for five in the allotted 45 overs. Smita Harikishnan scored an unbeaten 51. Seema Bhowmick and Rituparna Roy bagged a couple of wickets each for Bengal.

In reply, Rituparna waged a lone battle, making 22, as Bengal were skittled out for 106 in 43.4 overs.

Air India will take on Indian Railways, who beat Andhra Pradesh by 185 runs in another semi-final clash, in the final, to be played at Eden Gardens Sunday.


At High Court ground: Air India 205/5 in 45 ovs (Smita Harikishan 51 n.o., Anju Jain 47; Seema Bhowmick 2/31, Rituparna Roy 2/42). Bengal 106 in 43.4 ovs (Rituparna Roy 22; Vidya Gopal 2/18, Jhalan Goswami 2/20, Mamata Kishan 2/17). Air India won by 99 runs.

At Taltala ground: Indian Railways 312/5 (Mitali Raj 79, R. Venugopal 69, R. Shastri 45 n.o.). Andhra Pradesh 127 (Sudha Rani 45; D. Kulkarni 4/12, N. David 2/17). Indian Railways won by 185 runs.

Wari, Kalighat advance

Wari AC and Kalighat Club moved into semi-finals notching up contrasting victories against Shyambazar and Eastern Railway respectively in the J.C. Mukherjee Trophy today.


Wari AC 445/9. Shyambazar 260 (Aditya Sengupta 62; Kamlesh Singh Rajput 5/81, Ranadeb Bose 3/63). Wari won by 185 runs.

Kalighat 412/7. Eastern Railway 382 (Sanjay Bhattacharjee 123, Souvik Mukherjee 86, Anand Kumar 60; Sanjib Sanyal 4/99, Murtaza Lodhgar 3/131). Kalighat won by 30 runs.


Calcutta, April 13: 
City-based tennis coach Gary O�Brien has bagged his first major assignment. The All India Tennis Association (AITA) has named him coach of the Indian under-16 teams for the NEC World Youth Cup in Jakarta from May 7-13.

An ITF Level I and USPTR coaching diploma-holder, O�Brien has been involved with several junior programmes in the city. He is currently in charge of the Paes En Sport-conducted clinics and also trains the country�s top three juniors (Sunil Kumar, Amanjot Singh and Vinod Sewa).

O�Brien will leave for Mumbai next week to watch the juniors in action at an AITA meet there. The week after that, he will conduct a preparatory camp for the Jakarta-bound players.

The three-member boys� team consists of V. Vignesh, Karan Rastogi and Arun Prakash with Vikrant Sane as the reserve member. The girls� team comprises Sania Mirza, Ankita Bhambri, Sasha Abraham. Bengal�s Priyanka Parekh is the reserve.


Calcutta, April 13: 
Top seed Baisakhi Das beat Paramita Ghosh to emerge sole leader after the fourth round of the 27th state women chess championship at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra today. She is followed by Swati Mohota, who defeated Rupa Sarkar.

In the 29th junior meet, the top two seeds, Saptarshi Roy and Sayantan Dutta, were leading the table with four points each. Saptarshi beat Puneet Jaiswal (3) and Sayantan got the better of Suman Basu (3).

BHA league

Sporting Union got past WB Police 2-1 in a BHA first division group B league match. Ranjit Dey put the policemen in the lead in the fifth minute. Sporting Union came back strongly after the break and netted in two goals in quick succession. Amarnath Dutta equalised in the 43rd minute and Sudip Singh got the matchwinner after 12 minutes.


Mumbai , April 13 : 
Elegant Jade, winner of the Bookmakers� Trophy ahead of a strong field, appears to have improved further and the S. Sunderji-trained ward may win the 1,000m Astronomic Trophy in Mumbai on Saturday. B. Prakash partners the Serious Spender-Shocking filly.


3 pm: Bearer Bond 1. Emmanuel�s Pet 2. Princess Jo 3.
3.30 pm: Survee�s Pet 1. Golden Tiger 2. Furiously 3.
4 pm: Absolute Hit 1. My Solitaire 2. Special Happening 3.
4.30 pm: Elegant Jade 1. Speed Of Light 2. Super Sword 3.
5 pm: Days Of Thunder 1. Reprobate 2. Speedster 3.
5.30 pm: Dotcom 1. Reaching Out 2. Celtic Son 3.
6 pm: Clive Commission 1. Musical Melody 2. Texas King 3.
Day�s Best: Absolute Hit
Double: Bearer Bond & Elegant Jade.

Maintained by Web Development Company