Bagan kick-off today; EB in fray
Kalighat, Wari win
Arun Lal lights up awards ceremony

Calcutta, June 30: 
There is a chance for Mohun Bagan to regain some pride after their Millennium Cup loss to Salgaocar. They kick off the McDowell Cup soccer meet tomorrow, versus Calcutta Port Trust, and will depend heavily on their two Brazilians Jose Ramirez Barreto and Joao Santos to put up their challenge.

Tomorrow, Bagan are expected to be in full strength, and coach Subrata Bhattacharya says he is certain his team will be able to clinch this Maidan season-opener. The arduous practice session late this morning was an indicator.

The other team in Bagan�s group is Tollygunge Agragami. East Bengal have, in group B, FCI and Mohammedan Sporting for company.

Impasse solved

Meanwhile, the impasse vis-a-vis East Bengal was solved today with Justice Amitava Laha of the Calcutta High Court passing an injuntcion order on the AIFF, restraining it from acquiring four players of the club for a tour of England. East Bengal, thus, are not pulling out.

That means East Bengal will be able to keep Dipankar Roy, Dipok Mondal, Falguni Dutta and Ratan Singh in their ranks for the McDowell Cup and the Super Division league fixtures that follow. The injunction (unser section 9) is till then. While five of the club�s players are in the under-19 camp, Bijen Singh and Renedy Singh have already gone over to the Indian senior camp. The Indian team is expected to leave on July 18.    

Calcutta, June 30: 
Kalighat and Wari AC won their IFA League first division group A matches today. Kalighat beat Aryan 2-0, while Wari downed Bahala Youth with an identical scoreline.

A.K. Koley and A. Das scored for Kalighat, both in the first half, while Abir Basu and Dipendra Chhetri scored for Wari.

In group B, Bowbazar YMU rode a first half Swapan Majumder goal to beat Kalighat Friends, while Brojogopal Lodh and Gopal Ghosh gave Calcutta Customs a 2-0 win over Aikya Sammilani. In the fifth division, Devangshu Das� three in-a-row was the highlight of Saradacharan AC�s 8-1 drubbing of Elysium.


Jamshedpur, June 30: 
The winners of The Telegraph Schools Chess Championship thronged the Rajendra Vidyalaya auditorium today to stake claim on their booty.

Rohan Vijay Shandilya, the winner, sat next to his rival Pratik Sengupta, sharing a joke or two.

Former cricketer Arun Lal, the chief guest, said: �Whatever field you are engaged in, specially sports, your only prayer should be hard work. There is no substitute for hard work. And, the good thing about it is, hard work can only bring in good returns. There is nothing that one can loose through it. It�s the sole road to success.�

�Talent is a conglomerate of hard work, dedication and determination. These aspects combine to hone a talented sportsman. Be ambitious, set a goal and march towards it. Never underestimate yourself,� added the former opener.

Also present was S.N. Mishra, the general manager, sports and social services, Tata Steel. He was happy that the tournament will now feature annually in the sports calendar of the city.

Extending his support to all such endeavours, he said: �We would like to attach ourselves to the grassroots and will do all that is possible to promote sports amongst youngsters.�

The tournament, which began on June 21, was jointly organised by Tata Steel and Alekhine Chess Club of Calcutta. It was co-sponsored by Horlicks.

PRIZE WINNERS: Champion: Rohan Vijay Shandilya, S.R. Singh High School, Munger (8.5 points). Runner-up: Pratik Sengupta, S.E.R. Mixed English Medium School, Chakradharpur (8.5). Third: Swagatam Sengupta, J.P. Boys� High School, Calcutta and Suman Basu, Madhyamgram High School, Calcutta (7.5). Fifth: Pranjal, Don Bosco Academy, Patna (7). Sixth: Akash Kusum, Motilal Nehru Public School, Jamshedpur (7). Seventh: Ved Prakash Sinha, Ram Mohan Seminary, Patna (7). Eighth: Sourav Chakraborty, St James High School, Calcutta (7). Ninth: Abhishek Das, Bharat Sevashram Sangha School, Jamshedpur (7). Tenth: Sudipto Dasgupta, DAV Public School, Jamshedpur (7).

OTHER PRIZES:Youngest Girl Participant: Mohana Sengupta, Kamala Girls High School (5 points); Youngest Boy Participant: Anirban Kundu, DBMS English School, Jamshedpur (3 points); Best U-8 girl: S. Sruthi, Dayanand Public School, Jamshedpur (6 points); Best U-8 boy: Anirban Pati, DBMS English School, Jamshedpur (6 points); Best U-10 girl: R. Sharda, DBMS English School, Jamshedpur (5.5 points); Best U-10 boy: Souvik Chakraborty, Narmada High School, Calcutta (6 points); Best U-12 girl: G. Samvedita, DBMS English School, Jamshedpur (6 points); Best U-12 boy: Himanshu Shekhar Sharma, Town High School, Munger (6.5 points); Best U-14 girl: Rashmi Kanchan, Motilal Nehru Public School, Jamshedpur (6 points); Best U-14 boy: Varun Anant, SER Mixed English Medium School, Chakradharpur (7 points).    


Maintained by Web Development Company