Sandipan holds GM; Kaidanov sole leader
Sewa, Radhika reach semis
FC Kochin honour Vijayan

Calcutta, Feb. 9 
Gregory Kaidanov of USA emerged sole leader after the fourth round of the 11th Goodricke International Open Chess tournament at Alekhine Chess Club today.

Kaidanov got the better of Sriram Jha in a marathon battle lasting seven hours and nearly 90 moves. Kaidanov (4 points), is followed by four players at 3.5 � Viktor Korchnoi, Tejas Bakre, K. Sasikiran and Koneru Humpy.

Meanwhile, Sandipan Chanda continued his impressive run with a draw against GM Alexander Goloshapov from an inferior position to take his tally to 3.

In a semi-Slav set up Kaidanov, playing black, obtained a superior position from the opening and went into a Rook and Knight vs Rook and Knight ending a pawn up. But the conclusion posed some technical problems which Kaidanov solved in textbook fashion to win in a long ending.

On the second board, Korchnoi got the better of Suvrajit Saha in a Queen�s Gambit Declined. Korchnoi obtained a passed pawn in the centre and then broke open Saha�s Kingside after which he was forced to resign.

Sandipan Chanda once more opted for his favourite Sicilian defence but landed up in a difficult ending where he had a bad Bishop and a Rook for Alexander Goloshchapov�s Rook and Bishop. But, Sandipan defended accurately to thwart Goloshchapov�s winning attempts and forced a draw in 63 moves.

National champion and double GM norm holder Sasikiran had little difficulty in disposing off Jayant Gokhale with the black side of the King�s Indian. Sasikiran gave up his Queen for three pieces in the middle game and then combined his pieces to weave a mating net around Gokhale�s King.

Humpy played yet another impressive positional game to jump into the joint second spot with a win over S. Satyapragyan. In a Reti opening, Humpy exploited the pawn weakness of Satyapragyan on the Queenside and went into a double Rook ending with an outside passed pawn which proved decisive.

World championship finalist Vladimir Akopian of Armenia survived a scare against IM Shanker Roy of Bengal. Akopian opened with the Owen�s defence (e4 b6) in reply to Shanker�s Kingpawn opening. The game later took the character of a French defence where Shanker had space advantage on the Kingside. Shanker broke open Akopian�s Kingside but lost a Rook in severe time pressure. The resulting endgame posed some problems for Akopian as his King was exposed. Akopian finally managed to win after an exchange of Queens.

Surya Sekhar Ganguly of Goodricke National Chess Academy held GM Pavel Blatny to a draw with black pieces in a Reti opening. Surya had the better chances in a Rook and pawn endgame but squandered his opportunities under time pressure.

National sub-junior champion Saptarshi Roy, also of GNCA, outwitted IM Reefat Bin Sattar of Bangladesh to take his tally to 2.


Sriram Jha (3) lost to Gregory Kaidanov (4); Viktor Korchnoi (3.5) bt Suvrajit Saha (3); Alexander Goloshapov (3) drew with Sandipan Chanda (3); Aarthie Ramaswamy (2.5) bt Tejas Bakre (3.5); Koneru Humpy (3.5) bt S Satyapragyan (2.5); Shanker Roy (2) lost to Vladimir Akopian (3); Anup Deshmukh (2) lost to Peng Xiaomin (3); Evgeny Vladimirov (3) bt V. Koshy (2); G. Singh (2.5) drew with Maxim Sorokin (2.5); Jozsef Horvath (3) bt N K Mishra (2); Abhijit Kunte (3) bt Rahul Shetty (2); Arun Vaidya (2) lost to Zia-ur Rahman (3); G B Prakash (3) bt N Neelakantan (2); V Saravanan (2) drew Ildar Ibragimov (2); Andrew Webster (1.5) lost to Viorel Iordachescu (2.5); P Konguvel (1.5) lost to Bogdan Lalic (2.5); P. Mithrakanth (1.5) lost to Leonid Yurtaev (2.5); P D S Girinath (2) drew with Tahir Vakhidov (2); Mathies Roeder (2) drew with N S Babu (2); R M Dongre (1.5) lost to Dao Thien Hai (2.5).


Pavel Blatny (1.5) drew with S S Ganguly (1.5); Saptarshi Roy (2) bt Reefat Bin Sattar (1); C S Gokhale (2) bt Saheli Dhar Barua (1); Roktim Bandyopadhyay (2) bt Collas Didier (1); Azer Mirzoev (1.5) bt Laltu Chatterjee (0.5); Vishal Sareen (0.5) drew with Dipanjan Das (0.5).    

Calcutta, Feb. 9 
Vinod Sewa stormed into the semi-finals of the ITF junior world ranking meet at Dakshin Kalikata Sansad today. In the quarter finals, he sailed past wild card entrant Benjamin Xavier 6-2, 6-1.

Sewa will now meet unseeded Kuhar Uros of Slovenia who defeated lucky loser Dhruv Kumar 6-4, 7-5.

The only seeded player to enter the semi-finals was fourth seeded Huzat Sofyan of Armenia who overcame 1999 junior national champion Kamala Kannan 6-1, 6-0. Sofyan faces unseeded Raian Luchici of Romania, who beat P. Ravishankar 6-1, 6-2.

In the girls singles, the only unseeded player to make the last-four was Nandita Chandrasekhar. She ousted third seeded Aibika Kalsareva 6-3, 6-1. She will take on top seed Radhika Tulpule, who had to toil hard before disposing off sixth seeded Nischala Reddy 7-6 (7-1), 6-1.

Second seed Shuai Peng of China set up a semi-final clash with compatriot Xie Yan Ze. Peng got past fifth seeded Geeta Manohar 6-2, 6-3 while Xie upstaged unseeded Samrita Sekar 6-1, 6-4.


(All quarter finals) BOYS: Vinod Sewa (Ind) bt Xavier Benjamin (Ind) 6-2, 6-1; Kuhar Uros (Slo) bt Dhruv Kumar (3, Ind) 6-4, 7-5; Sofyan J (3, Arm) bt Kamala Kannan (Ind) 6-1, 6-0; Luchici (Rom) bt P. Ravishankar (Ind) 6-1, 6-2.

GIRLS: Radhika Tulpule (1, Ind) bt Nischala Reddy (6, Ind) 7-6 (7-1), 6-1; Chandrasekhar Nandita (Ind) bt Kalsareeva Aibika (3, Kgz) 6-3, 6-1; Xie Yan Ze (8, Chi) bt Sekar Samrita (Ind) 6-1, 6-4; Peng Shuai (2, Chi) bt Manohar Geeta (5, Ind) 6-2, 6-3.

GIRLS� DOUBLES: Peng Shuai/Xie Yan (Chi) bt N.Reddy/C. Nandita (Ind) 6-2, 6-4; G. Manohar/V. Chhetri (4, Ind) bt R. Vimal/N. Perumal (Ind) 3-6, 6-4, 6-2; A. Shcupak (Uzb)/A. Kalsareva (Kgz) bt Narumi (Sin)/Wada (Jap) 6-3, 6-3; A. Tamura (Jap)/A. Rozkaline (Lat) bt S. Sekar/Saiswapna (Ind) 6-3, 6-3.

BOYS� DOUBLES: R. Arun Prakash/Xavier (ind) bt Luchici Raian (Rom/Kuhar Uros (Slo) 6-4, 6-4; Sofyan Hazut (Arm)/Mukhamedzanov (Uzb) bt Frick Michael (HK)/Brian Hung (HK) 6-1, 6-3; Amanjot Singh (Ind)/P. Chaturvedi (Ind) bt Hiu Tung /Jack Hui (HK) 6-1, 6-2; K. Kannan K/P. Ravishankar (Ind) bt Mohanty (Ind)/Manigiurea Radu (Rom) 4-6, 6-4, 6-4.    

Calcutta, Feb. 9 

FC Kochin, who are in the city because of their National League match versus Mohun Bagan on Friday, today felicitated their star striker I. M. Vijayan for being named Footballer of the Year by the All India Football Federation.

Vijayan was presented with a memento by players and officials of the club.

Kalighat win

Safi Ahmed, with an unbeaten 41, and Arindam Roy, with a knock of 40, today took Kalighat to a seven-wicket win over Excelsiors in the CAB senior division league tie.

BRIEF SCORES: Excelsiors 116 (Murtaza Lodhgar 3/53). Kalighat 118/3 (Safi Ahmed 41 n.o., Arindam Roy 40). Kalighat won by 7 wkts.    


Maintained by Web Development Company