TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

HRD Minister Dr. Shashi Tharoor Presents the Thinkers50 Awards

Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Dr. Shashi Tharoor presented India’s Top Thinkers with the Thinkers50 India Award at the Awards ceremony held as part of full day conference at the Leela Hotel at Gurgaon, NCR. He also unveiled the Thinkers50 India definitive list of the most unsurpassed management thinkers from India and the inaugural issue of the Thinkers Magazine. An acclaimed platform, Thinkers50 is a one-stop platform for visionary ideas and innovation.

During his talk that followed, Dr. Shashi Tharoor impressed upon the need to create, expand and enhance the process of thought leadership across the Indian diaspora. He further added, “To create a thriving and sustainable societal ecosystem we need people who have the potential to change the world for the better. We need leaders who can lead with their visionary ideas and innovative approaches coupled with efficient and inspired management. Such leadership can have a profound influence on the world around us. It has the potential to give rise to disruptive business models and new paradigms of commerce, which in turn will have a significant impact on the world, beyond business and touch issues such as poverty, education, healthcare and much more”.

The India Thinkers50 Special Awardees are as follows –

-- The Thinkers50 India Global Village Award - Nirmalya Kumar, Member-Group Executive Council Tata Sons & Professor of Marketing, London Business School

-- Thinkers50 India Innovation Award – Shared by Navi Radjou, Co-author of Jugaad Innovation & Rishikesha T Krishnan, Professor of Corporate Strategy & Policy, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore

-- Thinkers50 Marketing Award - Arvind Rangaswamy, Anchel Professor of Marketing & International Business, Penn State University

-- Life Time Contribution Award - M.B. Athreya, Management Advisor

-- Thinkers50 India Book Award - Ravi Venkatesan, Author, Corporate Leader, Former Chairman Microsoft India & Cummins India.

-- Thinkers 50 India Future Thinker Award - Srivatsa Krishna, officer of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), & currently a PhD Research Scholar at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras

The Thinkers50 distinction was selected based on the votes of peers and corporate leaders. The Thinkers50 India will select the best of the foremost management thinkers every year in addition to thinkers in the area of Arts, Culture, Entertainment, History etc.

Management thinkers who made it to the prestigious Thinkers50 India definitive list include Nirmalya Kumar, Gurcharan Das, Kiran Karnik, Vineet Nayyar, Nandan Nilekani, Arun Maira, Deepa Prahalad among others.

“The Thinkers50 list has gained global recognition as the only ranking of leading business thinkers. Being placed on this list is a tribute to these leaders/thinkers and their role in the transformation of major corporations across the world and for their ideas that have extended beyond the business world to address the complex and pressing issues of our times”, said Dr. Amit Kapoor, Editor-in-Chief, Thinkers & Curator of Thinkers50 India.

The Thinkers50 India event, which was a daylong conference brought together under one-roof people and leaders whose ideas will strive to change the quality of business leadership. The event hosted some of the world’s most exciting and insightful thinkers who discussed and shared new ideas and thoughts to address challenging issues and forge new paths and in the process create an ever-widening circle of thought leadership.

Prominent speakers like Arvind Rangaswamy, Mohanbir Sawhney, Pankaj Ghemawat, Marshall Goldsmith, Nirmalya Kumar, Kevin Stolarick, Wilfired Aulbur, Pranjoy Guha Thakurta, et al from business and management shared their thoughts at the event on August 30, 2013. The complete list of the speakers is available at

The first issue of the Thinkers magazine was also launched by the Honorable Minister. Thinkers India magazine has a collection of original writings by eminent thinkers like Devdutt Patnaik, Vineet Nayar, Prasad Kaipa, Ravi Venkatesan, et al on thematic issues and interviews of Vijay Govindarajan, Roger Martin and Jagdish Sheth (

About The Initiative

THINKERS (Magazine), is a presentation of Thinkers50 India, which is about discussing new ideas, new thoughts, addressing challenging issues, forging new paths, in the process creating
an ever widening circle of thought leadership and create synergy in the thought leadership space by integrating the online and offline experiences.

Thinkers50 India is a joint initiative of Institute for Competitiveness, India and Thinkers50.

Institute for Competitiveness, India is an international initiative centered in India, dedicated to enlarging and purposeful disseminating of the body of research and knowledge on competition and strategy. Institute for Competitiveness,
India conducts and supports indigenous research, offers academic and executive courses, and provides advisory services to the Corporate and the Governments. The institute studies competition and its implications for company strategy; the competitiveness of nations, regions & cities and thus generates guidelines for businesses and those in governance; and suggests and provides solutions for socio-economic problems.

Created in 2001 by Stuart Crainer and Des Dearlove, the Thinkers50 was the first-ever global ranking of management thinkers. In the intervening decade, the scope of Thinkers50 has broadened to include a range of activities that support its mission of identifying, ranking and sharing the best management thinking in the world. Today, Thinkers50 is widely recognized as the world’s definitive ranking of the top 50 business thinkers, and the T50 Distinguished Achievement Awards are widely regarded as the “Oscars of management thinking.

For an opportunity to read the thoughts of some of the best minds of India, subscribe to the magazine at or write to [email protected].

To view the photograph, please click on the link given below:

People from Left to Right: Navi Radjou (Co-author of Jugaad Innovation), Dr. Amit Kapoor (Editor-in-Chief, Thinkers), Srivatsa Krishna (IAS), Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Dr. Shashi Tharoor, Arvind Rangaswamy (Anchel Professor of Marketing & International Business, Penn State University), Nirmalya Kumar (Member-Group Executive Council Tata Sons & Professor of Marketing, London Business School), Rishikesha T Krishnan (Professor of Corporate Strategy & Policy,IIM-Bangalore) and M.B. Athreya (Management Advisor)