TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Change in teacher honour

Teachers and students at Patna University are not amused by the administrationís decision to empower deans to nominate faculty members to be awarded as best teachers on Friday.

Three years ago, the university decided to take studentsí feedback to honour faculty members on Teachersí Day.

Pro-vice-chancellor R.K. Verma said: ďSix teachers and six deans will be given the best teachersí award this Teachersí Day. The university decided to empower the deans to nominate the teachers, instead of taking studentsí feedback, because of paucity of time.Ē

Sources, however, said the decision has been taken because of the underlying resentment among some teachers over being judged by students.

The university sought three nominations each from the six deans this year. Vice-chancellor Y.C. Simahadri, along with senior teachers, will choose one teacher from each faculty for the best teachersí award. The function will be held at Wheeler Senate Hall from 4pm.

M.N. Sinha, a geology teacher at Patna Science College, said: ďThe university is giving the excuse of less time on hand. If that was the case, the university could have just felicitated retired teachers like last year.Ē

The students are dissatisfied too. History student Ankur Kumar said: ďFelicitation of teachers based on our feedback was the best way, as we are the real stakeholders of the university.Ē