TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

IED blast kills three Ulfa cadres

Goalpara, Aug. 1: Three suspected Ulfa (Independent) cadres were killed in an IED blast at Mongre village in lower Assam’s Goalpara district this morning.

According to police, the cadres were making IEDs in the house to trigger blasts in a bid to disrupt Independence Day celebrations on August 15, when one bomb exploded around 8 this morning, killing the three persons.

They had brought materials from Goalpara, around 35km from the blast site, to make IEDs.

“We received information that some suspected Ulfa (I) cadres had brought materials from Goalpara to make IEDs. So, we had tightened security. They took shelter in a house at Mongre to make bombs. As the blast took place inside the house, they could not escape,” said Goalpara superintendent of police Nitul Gogoi.

Two of the cadres have been identified as Kanteswar Rabha alias Parama Asom, 30, and Akon Rabha.

A few days ago, the intelligence wing of Goalpara police had said a group of Ulfa (I) cadres entered the district under the leadership of Dristi Rajkhowa with the intention to allegedly carry out attacks with the help of the GNLA.

The district administration subsequently clamped Section 144 CrPC.

 More stories in Northeast

  • GNLA leaders escape raid
  • Tripura gymnast India's pride
  • Sivasagar on people-connect path
  • Poacher killed
  • NRL team for Bangla tour
  • IED blast kills three Ulfa cadres
  • Karate meet begins
  • Garo council term extended
  • City Police edge past Rising men
  • 3-line whip for Assam Cong MLAs
  • MP raises 'forced tea labour' issue
  • Yaitomba retains badminton title
  • Strike, ban for twin demands
  • Strike to protest abduction
  • Jail Road beat Moran
  • Mukul sees larger design in communal tension
  • Sahitya Sabha to leave BNC
  • Gambler
  • BSF boss
  • Century-old green canopy pays road 'tax'
  • Rights notice on encephalitis
  • Zeliang wants dry law debate in Assembly
  • NCP slams BJP on defection
  • Anti-tax activist 'abducted'
  • Assam Rifles in final