TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Viking SC win title

Hailakandi, July 16: Viking Sports Club lifted the Nirmalendu Purkayastha-Nalinikanta Roychoudhury Knockout football championship title, organised by District Sports Association of Karimganj.

In the final today at DSA ground in Karimganj, they defeated Frontier Club by a solitary goal. The all-important goal was scored by Singlal Lakshman Halam in the 10th minute.

Muktar Hussain was adjudged the Man of the Final.

In the first semi-final on Monday, Viking Sports Club defeated Riyal Milan Club 4-1. Ajmal Hussain scored the first goal in the 54th minute. Mathew Halam scored the second goal in the 60th minute and Jaijik Rongmei netted the third in the 74th minute, converting a penalty kick. Sibul Namasudra scored the fourth goal in the 90th minute. The only goal for Riyal was scored by Dilwar Hussain.

In the second semi-final yesterday, Frontier Club defeated MRC Football Club 2-1.

Assam team: The Assam Cricket Association today named the state team for the exposure tour to participate in the KSCA invitation tournament in Bangalore. The squad comprises Abu Nechim Ahmed (captain), Rajdeep Das (wicket keeper), Tajinder Singh, Sibsankar Roy, Gokul Sharma, Pallav Das, Hrishikesh Tamuly, Swarupam Purkayastha, Romario Sharma, Sunzow Brahma, Pritam Das, Krishna Das, Rajjakuddin Ahmed, Prasanta Sonowal, Roshan Alam and Chanakya Sarma.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Kamrup tops pending court cases
  • Bandh against Malue's murder
  • Rupshi airport leased to air force
  • Upsets rule second round
  • Bangalore club signs NE players
  • Lost a mithun? Chip will track it down
  • Priyana, Anurag enter semis
  • Homage to Garo bravehearts of WWI
  • Governor push to education
  • Constable kin plea: Find him
  • Viking SC win title
  • Minister defends cop recruits from Thoubal
  • MPs seek roads upgrade