TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Twin upsets in Barak valley

Silchar, May 16: The BJPís nationwide wave received a jolt in the Barak valley, where its sitting MP Kabindra Purakayastha, 82, was defeated by Sushmita Dev of the Congress, a sitting party MLA from Silchar seat.

In another Barak seat for the Lok Sabha in Karimganj reserved constituency it was the AIDUF which stole the thunder when its candidate Radheshyam Biswas, 63, who deserted the Congress during the run-up to the election, inflicted a defeat on Lalit Mohan Shuklabaidya, the two-time former Congress MP from this seat, and won the seat.

The BJPís performance in Karimganj reserved seat was lacklustre with its candidate Krishna Das, a former chairman of the Karimganj municipality, bagging 260772 votes against Biswasís 362866.

additional reporting by Touhid Raja Choudhury in Silchar and Satananda Bhattacharjee in Hailakandi