TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Districts gear up for vote count

Jorhat, May 13: Counting for the Jorhat Lok Sabha seat will be held at five counting centres on Friday.

The returning officer for the Jorhat seat, Solanki Vishal Vasant, told reporters here today that counting would be held at Jorhat, Titabar, Sivasagar, Nazira and Sonari for the 10 Assembly seats that form the Jorhat parliamentary constituency.

He said one EC observer would be present at each counting centre and the entire counting process would be monitored and recorded through CCTVs installed at the centres.

Vishal said the strong rooms would be opened at 6.30am in presence of all agents of the candidates and officials and the courting process will commence from 8.30am.

In Guwahati, the Kamrup (metro) district administration is also gearing up for counting of votes for four legislative Assembly constituencies at the Sarusajai stadium from 8am.

Eight counting stations, two each for every constituency, have been set up and the officials have been trained for the purpose today.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Strategy for planters to tackle drought
  • Satan worship alert in Tura
  • Nalbari enter semi-finals
  • Latu High claim title
  • Districts gear up for vote count
  • Religious sect's 'Third Temple' draws crowds
  • Samity plea to withhold results
  • Rally in Dimapur against Rongmeis
  • Panel turns down repoll plea
  • Duo confess to beating up women
  • Protest over waterlogging
  • Punshiba bags title
  • Meghalaya hopes for glitch-free counting
  • Purno hastens to meet Modi
  • Drive to ready falcon haunt for tourists
  • Violence-rerun rumours fuel security demand
  • Big win for Navarang
  • Council seeks President's rule
  • Rio to decide group allegiance at Centre
  • Plan for fine arts course
  • CK, Shankar academies triumph