TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

AG Office in top spot

Guwahati, April 8: Accountant-General’s Office Club swept the major honours at the Mohan Chandra Das and Sarala Bala Das Open and Inter-club Table Tennis Championship, organised by Guwahati Sports Association, at ABITA indoor stadium here on Monday.

The AG women’s team — comprising Sanjana Sarma, Chandrima Sen, Riza Anirban and Mouchaki Deka — beat their Food Corporation of India counterparts, featuring Kritika Upadhaya, Adrija Sarma and Jitakhee Mazumdar, 3-1 to clinch the title. Rajbari Club, featuring Sharmistha Das, Shirley Barua and Krishangi Kashyap, came third.

In the men’s team event, the AG team, featuring Saidul Alam Ahmed, M. Das, Chinku Rajkhowa and Eekshwanku Saradhana, got the better of the FCI team, comprising Chinmoy Sarma, Bhaskarjyoti Sarma, Salim Zaved and Aditya Dey, 3-1. The Green Valley team, with the likes of Abhilash Bora, Akash Barua and Minmoy Gondhia, secured third position.

In the individual events today, Sadhvi Pul beat Akanksha Deka 3-0 to clinch the mini cadet girls’ title while Aryamaan Das got the better of Sahil Bharadwaj 3-2 to emerge champion in the mini cadet boys’ category. Harshita Das occupied the third spot in the mini cadet girl’s category while Adrian Hazarika stood third in the mini cadet boys’ event.

Shirley Barua occupied the third position in the cadet girls’ category while Sharmsitha Das and Gargee Goswami qualified for the title clash. Zubayr Arshad Barua was scheduled to play Arka Kr Gogoi in the cadet boy’s final.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Divided by thin red lines, united by sisterhood
  • Repoll plea on Jorhat booths
  • Booth trespass slur on Nagaland
  • NPF does a Robert Bruce in Arunachal
  • Poll-time folks! Have fun
  • Victories for St Joseph, Gyanjyoti
  • NPF does a Robert Bruce in Arunachal
  • Luching, Rajiv win
  • IIM team ready for world meet
  • Power crisis haunts Dhubri
  • Divided by thin red lines, united by sisterhood
  • AG Office in top spot
  • B-students get Bhopal training
  • 4 states go to polls today