TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

EC cracks whip on babus, cop

Bhubaneswar, April 4: The state government today transferred three district collectors and a deputy inspector general of police following instructions from the Election Commission of India (ECI).

At a meeting with the representatives of the EC, the Congress and the BJP had accused the officials of political bias.

The district collectors, who have been shifted, are Niranjan Sahoo (Khurda), Ratnakar Rout (Kendrapara) and S.S. Nayak (Nabarangpur). The police official, who faced the wrath, was deputy inspector general (southern range) Amitabh Thakur. The three collectors were also the district election officers.

On April 2, Election Commissioners of India H.S. Brahma and Nasim Zaidi said that during their interaction with five political parties had brought the allegations against the officials.

Labour commissioner Shalini Pandit has been appointed as Khurda collector in place of Sahoo, while director, special projects of panchayati raj, Nitin Bhanudas Jawale has been posted as Kendrapara collector replacing Rout and project director of the DRDA, Malkangiri, Mohammad Sadiq Alam succeeded Shyam Sundar Nayak as Nabarangpur collector. Besides, inspector general of police Susant Nath has replaced Thakur.

 More stories in Front Page

  • EC cracks whip on babus, cop
  • Shahi Imam backs Congress and Lalu
  • CBI probe on Congress lips
  • In Ramgarh, Sonia attacks 'big liar', guess who
  • Sadhu shifts seat
  • If not in this case, then in which case should death be given, asks judge
  • Behera Jr banks on father
  • Sevak Modi cries for change
  • Court calls dead man
  • Teen attacks Kejriwal, beaten up
  • CM's 'Janab' arrested for murder