TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Reality TV notes for Telugu New Year

Ring in Ugadi, Telugu New Year, on a musical note.

Though Ugadi was held on March 31, for the first time some 13 Telugu institutions and associations came together on a single platform to celebrate it on Thursday evening.

The institutions and associations run by the city’s Andhra community, teaming up to form the Central Telugu Federation, offered a musical gala at Bari Maidan in Sakchi before a 700-plus audience.

The programme began with Ganesh vandana and moved on to songs. Organisers said the singers were well-known faces sourced from Telugu reality television programmes.

“The motive behind hosting this programme is to bring the community together,” said Nagraj, a member of Central Telugu Federation.

Chief guest of the function was CRPF inspector-general M.V. Rao while city SP Karthik S. was the guest of honour.

“This is the first time I visited the city for a cultural programme. I am happy Telugu-speaking people have come together to enjoy Ugadi,” said Rao. Karthik added that programmes like these help uphold the city’s cosmopolitan nature.

On March 31, the actual day of Ugadi, Telugu families performed traditional rituals.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Reality TV notes for Telugu New Year
  • Civil society outfit bats for electoral reforms
  • Only Ajoy cool to security drill
  • Lalu aims fodder barb at Modi
  • Women's voice against vote sale
  • Jayant chooses to play safe
  • Vow of comfort for special voters
  • Deepika fails to make poll mark
  • Displaced tell familiar tales of apathy
  • MP pep talk for able voters
  • Twin tests for Munda
  • Fraud FIR against builder, three aides
  • Down the beaten path
  • Cash rewards to fight rebels
  • Clock cousins debut
  • Three state players in third place
  • CMPDI boasts record drilling
  • Penniless war to sweep corruption
  • Bridge bane for sweet shops
  • Tusker poaching triggers alert
  • U-19 soccer meet next week
  • DC lens on safe Ramnavami
  • Students count on election break