TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Subba warned of expulsion

Guwahati, March 21: The Assam PCC today said it would expel Mani Kumar Subba from the party if he does not withdraw his nomination to contest from Tezpur parliamentary seat as an Independent.

Subba, a three-time Congress MP from Tezpur, filed his nomination before returning officer Lalit Gogoi this afternoon after the Congress refused to give him a ticket this time. The Congress has fielded Bhupen Bora as its candidate from Tezpur.

Bora is now a sitting MLA from Bihpuria seat in Assam and an AICC secretary.

PCC president Bhubaneswar Kalita told The Telegraph that Subba was liable to face disciplinary action for his conduct. Without resigning from the Congress, Subba cannot contest against a candidate of his own party, Kalita said. If Subba does not withdraw his nomination before the last date of withdrawal of candidature (March 24), the party will expel him for a period of six years, Kalita said.

Subba was embroiled in a series of controversies during his three successive terms as Tezpur MP from 1998 to 2004. The CBI had initiated a citizenship case against him.

In 2009, Subba lost the seat to AGPís Joseph Toppo.

After filing his nomination papers at Tezpur town, Subba told reporters that he had decided to contest because the people of Tezpur wanted him as their representative. He said he did not care about Congress candidate Bhupen Bora.

However, in a surprising move, sources said the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has decided to support Subba.

On March 17, the AIUDF had declared Sheikh Mohammad Sadek as its candidate from Tezpur constituency. However, he was told to wait for AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmalís go-ahead before confirming his candidature.

Ajmal, who had gone to Mecca, did not return till 3pm today and thus Sadek could not file his nomination. Today was the last date for filing nominations for Tezpur parliamentary seat.

Besides Subba, AGPís Joseph Toppo, Independent Ilias Kujur, Jiten Saikia from the Aam Aadmi Party, Gopi Chand Sahabad from the Trinamul Congress and Rajen Saikia of the Forward Bloc filed their nomination papers today. The BJPís R.P. Sarmah had filed his nomination paper on Thursday.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Probe into money distribution charge
  • Judicial meet on child rights begins today
  • Subba warned of expulsion
  • Single window for rally permits
  • Award for woman vendor
  • NDFB threat looms over polls
  • Ghatowar confident of win
  • MLA threat to kill wild jumbo herd
  • Tiddim Road win
  • Skills training for placement
  • Ballot blow to matric results
  • Docs suggest prevention
  • Navajyoti Club claim top title
  • Nurse crunch in cancer hub
  • Chief minister wants Naga issue settled
  • First-innings lead for Hojai boys
  • Look Sachin, we've got a pitch
  • Charaideo put up 239 runs
  • Forget crusader, I have never asked my wife to join Cong: CM
  • Help for students to crack exams