TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Govt Boys wins school tourney title

u-15 cricket

Hailakandi, March 13: Government Boys’ School annexed the Baidyanath Nath inter-school (under-15) cricket championship, organised by the District Sports Association (DSA), Silchar, beating South Point School by four wickets in the final at Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium in Silchar today.

South Point opted to bat and scored 62 for the loss of all wickets in 17 overs. In reply, Government Boys’ scored 63 runs losing six wickets in 17.3 overs. Shivam Goala (10) was the only South Point batsman to score in double figures. Medium pacer Gautam Das bagged three wickets for 16 runs while Sayan Das and Najmul Mazumdar took two wickets each, giving away 14 and eight runs respectively.

Rajdeep Banik topscored for Govt Boys with 16 runs while 21 runs flowed in as extras. Shivam Goala bagged four wickets conceding 28 runs. Kunal Dhar picked up two wickets for 10 runs.

Gautam Das was declared Man of the Match.

Saumik Das of Cachar High School was named the Best Batsman while Rupam Deb of the same school was adjudged the Best Bowler. Rupam Deb was named the Man of the Tournament.

Sharooque Ahmed Laskar of Biplabi Ullashkar Dutta Vidya Bhavan got the award for the only hattrick in the tournament. Bikash Deb of Cachar High School was adjudged the Best Wicketkeeper.

 More stories in Northeast

  • NPP chalks out poll strategy
  • Varsity head faces probe
  • Sonowal's parivartan mantra
  • Govt rejects holiday plea
  • City club beats hosts Maharana
  • Ankurjyoti triumph
  • Goalpara resident gets AAP Dhubri seat
  • Nagaland, Assam in fresh border row
  • Singer rejects AAP offer
  • Beacon denial miffs Clifford
  • AIUDF sticks to tried and tested
  • 'Being young is my strength'
  • Rich tea trove in Assam wilderness
  • Bhupen Trophy on track
  • Govt Boys wins school tourney title
  • Robbers loot buses, kill helper
  • Sharmila backs AAP
  • Imphal West emerge winner
  • Rescued children brought to Shillong
  • Congress retains Pala for Shillong
  • AGP's lone Lok Sabha MP resigns, joins BJP
  • Beware of fake officials