TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Race for free & fair poll

Kokrajhar, March 11: The Kokrajhar district administration has ordered all licenced arms holders in the district to submit their weapons and ammunition to their respective police stations during the Lok Sabha polls, deputy commissioner Nitin Khade said today.

In order to ensure free and fair elections, the district administration in collaboration with Bineswar Brahma Engineering College organised a 5km race here today on the theme Run for Free and Fair Election and Votersí Participation in Electoral Process. Hundreds of students, teachers and people participated in the race from Kokrajhar Government Higher Secondary and Multipurpose School ground to the secretariat field at Bodofa Nwgwr.

Khade said the race was organised to create awareness on the importance of free, fair and peaceful elections and allow people to vote fearlessly and without being influenced by considerations of race, caste, community, language or any other inducement.

In another development, the district election officer has directed all heads of government offices to obey the model code of conduct. In a letter to the officers, the DEO said the code of conduct came into force from March 5 and hence, no wall writing, pasting of posters, papers or defacement or erecting or displaying cut-outs, hoardings, banners and flags would be allowed on any government office premises.

Election to the Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency will be held on April 24.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Race for free and fair poll
  • Saraighat cap for Ram
  • Slow rail speed in forests mooted
  • State to get 10% power from each project, says CM
  • ...But Ajmal wants little brother to contest
  • Mizoram ready to welcome champs
  • Imphal West, Bishnupur enter final
  • ATTSA warns against three Bs during poll
  • First Assam expedition to Everest
  • Polls in the air, fest with a difference
  • Green light for road schemes in 3 states
  • Protest over strong room plan
  • Khaplang loses cadre in feud
  • UDP names Paul as nominee