TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Saurabh to lead state side

After a dismal Ranji show, Jharkhand cricketers would like to better their performance during the zonal (East Zone) league matches for Vijay Hazare Trophy, scheduled in Ranchi from February 27 to March 7.

The 15-member team announced by Jharkhand State Cricket Association on Tuesday is a mix of youth and experience.

Jamshedpur-based southpaw Saurabh Tiwary will captain the state outfit. Ishank Jaggi, one of Jharkhandís batting mainstays, will be his deputy.

Others in the team include Rameez Nemat, Raju Kumar, Kumar Deobrat, Kaushal Singh, S. P. Gautam, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Shukla, Jaskaran Singh, Vikash Singh, Keshav Kumar, Virat Singh, Ishan Kishan and Samar Quadri.

Under-19 players Virat Singh, Kaushal Singh and Ishan Kishan made it to the senior team through their promising talent.

Ashish Yadav, Raju Yadav, Ashish Kumar, Prakash Seet, Pradeep Kujur and Mithun Mukherjee have been named stand-bys.

ďThe team is expected to perform well. The players have gone through the grind in the recently-concluded senior inter-district tournament and the match practice should help them,Ē said a functionary of the state cricket outfit.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Saurabh to lead state side
  • Brothers too hot to be healthy
  • Bachendri mounts celluloid peak
  • Unused funds
  • Dhanbad fair fleet grounded
  • Friendly fleet for a safe long drive
  • Cop transfers spur snarls
  • Villager awareness on minister radar
  • ISM to clean up hostel mess
  • An ode to royal repast
  • CM steers six-lane dream
  • Brrr, brace for a severe cold wave
  • Longer wait for Bokaro buses
  • Sleep spray whiff in burglary
  • Garhwa power plant on course
  • CCL employee among 4 abducted