TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Innings win for Punjab

Dhanbad: Punjab moved a step closer to the quarter finals, thrashing Jharkhand by an innings and 173 runs.

Off-spinner Gurkeerat Singh and left-armer Rajwinder Singh struck for Punjab, ending with a match haul of eight wickets apiece.

Punjab bowlers took just 34.1 overs to bowl Jharkhand out, after the hosts were made to follow on.

Meanwhile, Goa collected six points as they scored an easy eight-wicket win over Andhra to finish their Group C league engagement with 28 points and kept themselves in the fray for the knock stage.

Resuming from overnight score of 32 for three, Andhra's M Sriram (34) and B Sudhakar (24) added 48 runs before both fell in quick succession to Amit Yadav leaving their side tottering at 89/5.

In New Delhi, Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir were dismissed cheaply in yet another pathetic batting show by Delhi, who are now staring at a big defeat against table toppers Karnataka.

Having conceded a first innings lead of 87 runs after Karnataka scored 289 in their first innings, Delhi were tottering at 132 for six at stumps on day three with a lead of 45 runs and four wickets in hand.

Sehwag’s (11) woeful first-class season might have ended as he was trapped by a HS Sharath delivery that hit him below knee-roll having cut back a little. The umpire had little hesitation in giving him out.

Gambhir (26) again played those streaky shots through the slips with only confident boundary being clip through mid-wicket.

Summarised scores

Group A

In Bhubaneswar: Odisha 242 & 33/0. Haryana 626/4 decl.(R.Dewan 273, S. Rana 157, N. Saini 102)

In Dhanbad: Punjab 516. Jharkhand 216 & 127 (G. Singh 4/59). Punjab won by an innings and 173 runs

In New Delhi: Delhi 202 & 132/6. Karnataka 289

In Valsad: Mumbai 154 & 273. Gujarat 253 & 67/3 (J. Bumrah 4/68)

Group B

In Jaipur: Baroda 236 & 112/6. Rajasthan 333 (G. Singh 7/109)

v In Lucknow: Railways 460/4 (A. Ghosh 167 batting, M. Rawat 163 batting) vs Uttar Pradesh

Group C

In Agartala: Tripura 280 & 103/2. Jammu & Kashmir 325 (A. Rishi 78)

In Guwahati: Maharashtra 361 & 134 (J. Mohammed 7/50). Assam 152 & 94/4

In Hyderabad: Hyderabad 201 & 329/5 (H. Vihari 145). Kerala 264

vIn Porvorim: Andhra 148 & 160. Goa 267 & 43/2. Goa won by 8 wickets

All matches to continue unless otherwise mentioned