TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Manipur to meet Arunachal

Imphal, Jan. 1: Manipur will meet Arunachal Pradesh in the opening match of the qualifying round of the 68th National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy (Northeast zone) to begin from January 27 at Aizawl.

For the qualifying round matches, Manipur are clustered in Group A along with Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland. Group B comprises Assam, Railways, Meghalaya and Tripura.

Only one team will be picked from each group.

Manipur have listed 21 players for their phase two camp.

Goalkeepers: Y. Surchandra, Joseph T. Khongsai. Defenders: Oken Singh, T. Raju, Th. Itomba, A. Herojit, A. Meino, Md Sohail, Daniel Lhmar. Midfielders: L. Gouro, Md Imran Khan, N. Sushil, Md Riyash Khan, Christopher Kamei, H. Chakravorti. Forwards: Md Sahidur Rehman, L. Sanatomba, Kh Satish, Th. Premkumar and Kh. Naoton.

The All-Manipur Football Association (AMFA) has named S. Premkanta Singh as coach and W. Manihar Singh as manager of the team. Training is on in full swing at Football Turf, Khuman Lampak, since December.

The secretary of AMFA, L. Ranjit Roy, told The Telegraph that Manipurís players who are playing in clubs of other states would join from phase two as soon as they are released by their clubs.

He added: ďWe did not perform well in the last edition; we are taking great care in team combination this time and hopefully we will be qualified from this zonal encounter and perform better in the final round.Ē

Bordoloi Trophy

Oil India FC, Duliajan, will meet second division I-League Aizawl FC in the first quarter-final match of the 62nd Lokapriya Bordoloi Trophy football tournament at Nehru Stadium here tomorrow.

Tug of war: Sonitpur emerged champion in the 4th Inter-district Tug of War Championship defeating Golaghat 2-0 in the menís event while in the womenís event Golaghat A beat hosts Jorhat A 2-0 at the Jorhat District Sports Associationís ground on Sunday.

Choi Kwng Do: Hosts Biswanath Chariali emerged as the best team in the 1st Sonitpur district Choi Kwang Do Championship that concluded on Himalaya Industry premises in Biswanath Chariali on Sunday. Partha Protim Bhuyan of Sootea and Tara Dorjee of Gohpur were adjudged the best fighters in menís and womenís categories respectively.


Southern Sporting Union will face Anouba Imagi Mangal in the pre-quarter finals of the 57th Sir Churchand Singh KCSI, CBE Memorial Football Tournament, 2013 at Mapal Kangjeibung.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Meghalaya plunges into New Year
  • Hosts Delhi beat Assam by 57runs
  • Picnic pain for winged guests
  • First day, first show: Blasts rock Imphal
  • New Air Marshal at EAC
  • Special package for girl footballers
  • Manipur to meet
  • Invention boon for gardens
  • Jameer eyes medals