TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

‘Finally, I made a connection with Calcutta’

Calcutta: Anirban Lahiri was all smiles at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club (RCGC), here, on Sunday. And he has every reason to do that. After all, it was his first title at the Royal and, that too, the McLeod Russel Tour Championship.

“Finally, I made a connection with Calcutta. I am very happy to do that. I always wanted to win a title at the RCGC. In the last 15 years, I have been coming here. But I never won any. So I am happy to end that streak.

“Overall, it’s a very satisfying year for me. I would say my best year as a pro. I feel like a veteran,” Anirban, who won four titles (three on PGTI Tour and one on the Asian Tour) this year, said.

“I have to keep moving in the right direction. I raised my game by a few notches in the last one year. I just want to keep doing the good work. Mentally, I have improved and I am also consistent.

“The knee injury in August pegged me back. My target is to compete at the highest level next year. I am not targeting the Majors but I want to have good scores on the Asian Tour,” he added.

Talking about the RCGC course, Anirban, who is getting engaged to his long-time girlfriend early next year, said the course has set the benchmark.

Anirban had words of comfort for his good friend Rahil Gangjee, who finished runner-up. “My heart goes out to Rahil. He went through a very difficult time. Bashir uncle (Rahil’s father) passed away recently. Still Rahil was game when I asked him if I can stay at his place,” he said.

Rashid Khan of Delhi claimed the No. 1 position on the Rolex Rankings after finishing sixth in the year-ending tournament. Rashid’s total earnings were Rs 46,38,284.

S. Chikkarangappa of Bangalore (Rs 32,65,313) was second. He also won the Emerging Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile, it was announced that McLeod Russel has renewed their association with PGTI till 2017.

prize purse

  • Anirban Lahiri: 21,39,750
  • Rahil Gangjee: 14,64,750
  • inav Lohan: 7,44,525
  • Chiragh Kumar: 7,44,525
  • Jyoti Randhawa: 5,53,500

Note: Prize money in Rupees