TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

PCC chief cautions Cong

Imphal, Dec. 28: Alarmed by the Congress’s “poor performance” in the recent Assembly elections elsewhere in the country, Manipur PCC president Gaikhangam today urged party leaders and workers to learn a lesson from those results.

“We lost in four states, including Delhi, because of our mistakes and failure to live up to the expectations of the people. We should learn a lesson and work hard not to repeat the poor performance in Manipur,” Gaikhangam, who is also the home minister, told a party function organised at Congress Bhavan here to mark the 128th foundation day of the party. Gaikhangam cautioned party workers that “winds of defeat” might reach the state as well if the party remained “complacent” and failed to feel the pulse of the people. The Congress was ousted from Delhi and Rajasthan in the recent state Assembly elections. In Manipur, the Congress has 42 MLAs in a 60-member Assembly. Manipur’s two MPs in Lok Sabha and one in the Rajya Sabha are all Congressmen. The party is running the third consecutive term in Manipur.

“Let us start work from today to ensure that the party comes back to power in the state for the fourth consecutive term and also to retain the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha seats to ensure the UPA’s third term in Delhi,” Gaikhangam told partymen.

Reacting to criticism from the Opposition, Gaikhangam said it was the duty of each and everyone in the Congress to tell the people the truth.

“Tell the people achievements made by the Congress government and also create awareness about the welfare programmes taken up by the Congress government. If you do not clarify the false charges from the Opposition, people will think they are true, which is bad for the Congress,” Gaikhangam said. Veteran Congressman and Rajya Sabha member Rishang Keishing was among 20 party veterans who are above 80 years of age.

They were honoured by the party for their contributions to party’s activities at today’s programme.

Gaikhangam gave presents to the veteran party leaders.